close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Firefox problem

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Romadoc, May 16, 2005.


  1. Romadoc

    Romadoc
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2000
    497
    0
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    I downloaded the new patch for Firefox as requested by my Firefox screen. I believe it was 1.4. Since then, my machine has slowed as though trudging through a swamp. What's up?
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. troyboy30

    troyboy30
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    164
    0
    Location:
    Smyrna, GA
  3. LoWRyDa

    LoWRyDa
    Expand Collapse
    Homercles

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    104
    0
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    I had the same problem with Firefox, but before the install, i used it like 9 months ago, it was slow as hell, unsintalled and tried again at the recommendation of a friend within the last 2 weeks, but nope, its still slow as hell, any ideas what this could be? i really liked the tabbed viewing and once i started using it my spyware went from like 60 found to only about 10, but its just way to slow, IE blows it away on load times(maybe 1 second to load a new IE browser, 10sec minimum for FF) on my computer and Firefox also kills my resources, i used to be able to have upto 20 IE's open and it would never slow, but now when i have anymore than 3 or 4 of FF the system comes to a halt, and then they just randomly shut close without a warning.
     
  4. Romadoc

    Romadoc
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2000
    497
    0
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    I did a "clean" re-install. However, the machine continues to have problems...ie. "operation timed out", "waiting for google" and just slow operation. Additionally, a formally well working download of "Spy Sweeper" now appears with the word "error" in the upper part of the logo. I have referred this to Webroot. The fact remains that all this grief is subsequent to changing to the new Foxfire.
     
  5. Harlequin

    Harlequin
    Expand Collapse
    I need a weapon

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    455
    0
    Location:
    East Central Indiana
    My experience has been completely opposite. Firefox, even untweaked, is much faster than IE. It's more stable and contains built in features IE needs external programs to have.
     
  6. aspartz

    aspartz
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2000
    3,255
    121
    Location:
    Sandstone, MN 55072
    I had the same problem with 1.04. I uninstalled everything and tehn reinstalled -- all seemed well. The I tried to install spellbound... No Joy -- it won't install.

    ARS
     
  7. Fireglock

    Fireglock
    Expand Collapse
    Which is worse?

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    2,955
    0
    Location:
    Pinellas County, FL
    Firefox does load slower than IE, but then again half the code isn't in the system software. Typically when I've had a problem with FF, deleting the user profile gets rid of it.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
Firefox problem Tech Talk Oct 11, 2011
Firefox problem. Tech Talk Oct 29, 2007
Another Firefox problem: Tech Talk Jun 20, 2007
Firefox problem Tech Talk Mar 9, 2006
Firefox Mouse problem Tech Talk Nov 28, 2004