close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Firefox problem

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by sprayswithaks, Oct 11, 2011.


  1. sprayswithaks

    sprayswithaks
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    64
    0
    Ok so i just updated my firefox, now when i search for something on google and click on the results i get redirected to uniqueserachsystem.com. Also youtube videos will freeze and i get pop ups asking me to connect or work offline. I've tried scanning with an anti-malware program but as soon as i start a scan the program closes by itself.

    can anyone help me?
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. GIockGuy24

    GIockGuy24
    Expand Collapse
    Bring M&M's

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    4,037
    5
    Location:
    With Amber Lamps
    You can try scanning with a bootable CD.

    http://www.avira.com/en/support-download-avira-antivir-rescue-system

    The SFX (2nd one) download will automatically write the CD in Windows with a blank CD in the CD writer. The ISO (first one) download is the CD image itself if you know how to write an ISO image to CD. It's a big download. The automatic one is easiest to use and thew CD it writes is the same as the ISO download. After writing the CD then restart the computer with the CD in the CD drive. It has already been updated so don't bother trying to download updates when prompted as it often gets confusing too use that way.

    Easy instructions here.

    http://forum.avira.com/wbb/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=82163

    Another really good scanning CD is the Dr. Web Live CD.

    http://www.freedrweb.com/livecd/?lng=en

    or

    http://www.freedrweb.com/livecd/

    Video instructions.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KSvD-JCDKOc
     

  3. m2hmghb

    m2hmghb
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    8,621
    17
    Location:
    Livin in the country of NJ
    Boot into safe mode and try a scan that way. It sounds like you have malware.
     
  4. Pierre!

    Pierre!
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    3,951
    135
    Location:
    Lovin Sparks Nv!
    And... What is your operating system?

    I am betting it's Windows XP...
     
  5. sprayswithaks

    sprayswithaks
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    64
    0
    I've already tried running the scan in safe mode, the same thing happens. Also i am running vista:crying:
     
  6. eracer

    eracer
    Expand Collapse
    Where's my EBT?

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    6,711
    2
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I'm having issues with 7.0 as well. I've submitted a trouble ticket.

    Win7 Pro/64

    I can't access an internal HTTPS URL. I had no problems accessing it with 5.0, and IE8 works fine as well. With Firefox 7.0 I get to the login screen for the app, but when I enter my credentials I get an error:

    Corrupted Content Error
    - The page you are trying to view cannot be shown because an error in the data transmission was detected.
    - The page you are trying to view cannot be shown because an error in the data transmission was detected.
    - Please contact the website owners to inform them of this problem.


    Also, Firefox 7.0 seems s-l-o-w.....
     
    #6 eracer, Oct 11, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2011
  7. 9jeeps

    9jeeps
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    4,883
    485
    Location:
    PNW
    I've been having the same problems with FF. I have XP

    I uninstalled FF and am using Chrome. Chrome is OK, BUT, I can't send a link or page to friends or my wife's computer.

    Would like to get back to FF or a Link/Page sender of sorts. Can anyone help?

    I don't really want to go back to IE if I can avoid it.

    Thanks.


    PS. Also thought FF was slow or corrupted as FF7 was fickle and always crashing on me.
     
    #7 9jeeps, Oct 11, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2011