close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

FireFox 6 coming soon

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Detectorist, Aug 15, 2011.

  1. g29andy

    g29andy CLM

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,728
    Likes Received:
    121
    tried it, it's buggy, went back to 5.01
     

  2. Detectorist

    Detectorist

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    15,775
    Likes Received:
    4,809
    Location:
    Missouri
    Thanks. I'll put off upgrading for a while.
     
  3. Hauptmann6

    Hauptmann6

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    4,275
    Likes Received:
    131
    Location:
    Portage, MI
    For me it's faster than 5 by alot.
     
  4. Pierre!

    Pierre! NRA Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    4,117
    Likes Received:
    296
    Location:
    Lovin Sparks Nv!
    So far I totally agree with Hauptmann6...

    I have it on my 3 primary systems, and I was skeptical... but it's pretty fast! And a little less of a memory hog from my brief checks...

    Quite a few of my plugins/addons were not happy, but LastPass made it just fine! :cool:

    I ain't worth 'poo' without my passwords... :rofl:
     
  5. g29andy

    g29andy CLM

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,728
    Likes Received:
    121
    I had problems with pages not loading/images not loading on a couple of xp pro laptops and a Win 7 Ultimate 64bit desktop. However, in Ubuntu and Lubuntu, so far so good and fast too.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2011
  6. Detectorist

    Detectorist

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    15,775
    Likes Received:
    4,809
    Location:
    Missouri
    I decided to upgrade. So far, so good, with Vista Basic.
     
  7. Generalcarry

    Generalcarry NRA Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,536
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Michigan
    I found it terrible and went back to 5 myself.
     
  8. GotGlock1917

    GotGlock1917 Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    6,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Arkansas
    My only problem with FF is that it won't quit.

    I'm on a Mac Pro at work. It's a 2.66 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon with 32GB ram and running 10.6.8 Snow Leopard.

    Since I upgraded to FF5 and still at FF6 it will not quit from the menu or cmd-Q. I always have to force quit it. Really pisses me off.
     
  9. jwest46

    jwest46 Rebel Yeller

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    2
  10. Obi Wan

    Obi Wan

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,113
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    'Round the bend...
    I'm trying FF6 on the XP desktop for now, but have run into numerous cases of pages not loading. It could be related to my new Belkin router, but the two laptops seem to be loading OK with FF5, so the jury is out for now...
     
  11. mbogo

    mbogo

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    No problems on Vista or 7.

    mbogo
     
  12. g29andy

    g29andy CLM

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,728
    Likes Received:
    121
    All my machines had the automatic upgrade rather than a clean install.
    After reading some suggestions on mozilla forum, I completely uninstalled then reinstalled 6.0. Things working well now so far.


    If you do a complete wipe, backup your bookmarks before you uninstall, or use xmarks like I do to sync across all my machines.
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2011