close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Finally finished the build

Discussion in 'Black Rifle Forum' started by KK40384, Feb 26, 2013.


  1. smanocchio

    smanocchio
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    42
    0
    Interesting. Glad Im not doing anything wrong. My upper is a BCM complete, I cut the delta ring and then installed the rail. I wonder if something is out of whack or the rail is out of spec? I suppose I'll leave it as long as the irons zero ok, I don't plan on putting any optics on the actual rail.

    Thanks for responding and I hope you enjoy your rifle!
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
    #21 smanocchio, Feb 27, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2013
  2. Made in Austria

    Made in Austria
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    1,950
    79
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Interesting. My Daniel Defense Lite/RISII QUAD rails line up perfectly with the upper receiver :whistling:

    Jokes aside. I really like those Troy tubes. Thinking about getting one soon.
     

    #22 Made in Austria, Feb 27, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2013
  3. bigmoney890

    bigmoney890
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    1,486
    1
    Location:
    Boone, NC

    Did you use the provided Troy barrel nut or the stock barrel nut?
     
  4. ejkoechling

    ejkoechling
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    51
    1
    Location:
    Imperial, MO
    Nice peice. I started mine just alittle late
     
  5. WoodenPlank

    WoodenPlank
    Expand Collapse
    Who?

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    7,958
    3
    Location:
    NW Florida
    Pretty sure the newer ones don't come with a barrel nut, as they are designed to use a stock barrel nut. Your rail is the first generation version, which did require a proprietary barrel nut.
     
  6. smanocchio

    smanocchio
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    42
    0
    I used the stock barrel nut. The new alpha rails don't come with or require a proprietary barrel nut to my knowledge.
     
  7. bigmoney890

    bigmoney890
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    1,486
    1
    Location:
    Boone, NC

    Didn't realize the newer ones don't use a proprietary barrel nut. The OP stated that he was having trouble as well, and bought a troy barrel nut and everything worked out fine. Might want to call up Troy and see if that could be the problem
     
  8. KK40384

    KK40384
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    973
    7
    Location:
    Michigan
    No need to call Troy. I had used a sub par del-ton barrel nut and it deformed when torqued properly. Well the splines at least so the rail didn't line up right. When I purchased the new nut Troy just happened to have one in stock.


    Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire
     
  9. rv4driver

    rv4driver
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    795
    95
    Location:
    Ft. Collins, Co.
    Nice build! I might have to get a Troy for my next one.
    Love that FDE!
    [​IMG]