close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Finally finished the build

Discussion in 'Black Rifle Forum' started by KK40384, Feb 26, 2013.


  1. smanocchio

    smanocchio
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    42
    0
    Interesting. Glad Im not doing anything wrong. My upper is a BCM complete, I cut the delta ring and then installed the rail. I wonder if something is out of whack or the rail is out of spec? I suppose I'll leave it as long as the irons zero ok, I don't plan on putting any optics on the actual rail.

    Thanks for responding and I hope you enjoy your rifle!
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
    #21 smanocchio, Feb 27, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2013
  2. Made in Austria

    Made in Austria
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    1,920
    66
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Interesting. My Daniel Defense Lite/RISII QUAD rails line up perfectly with the upper receiver :whistling:

    Jokes aside. I really like those Troy tubes. Thinking about getting one soon.
     

    #22 Made in Austria, Feb 27, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2013
  3. bigmoney890

    bigmoney890
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    1,486
    0
    Location:
    Boone, NC

    Did you use the provided Troy barrel nut or the stock barrel nut?
     
  4. ejkoechling

    ejkoechling
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    51
    1
    Location:
    Imperial, MO
    Nice peice. I started mine just alittle late
     
  5. WoodenPlank

    WoodenPlank
    Expand Collapse
    Who?

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    7,958
    3
    Location:
    NW Florida
    Pretty sure the newer ones don't come with a barrel nut, as they are designed to use a stock barrel nut. Your rail is the first generation version, which did require a proprietary barrel nut.
     
  6. smanocchio

    smanocchio
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    42
    0
    I used the stock barrel nut. The new alpha rails don't come with or require a proprietary barrel nut to my knowledge.
     
  7. bigmoney890

    bigmoney890
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    1,486
    0
    Location:
    Boone, NC

    Didn't realize the newer ones don't use a proprietary barrel nut. The OP stated that he was having trouble as well, and bought a troy barrel nut and everything worked out fine. Might want to call up Troy and see if that could be the problem
     
  8. KK40384

    KK40384
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    971
    4
    Location:
    Michigan
    No need to call Troy. I had used a sub par del-ton barrel nut and it deformed when torqued properly. Well the splines at least so the rail didn't line up right. When I purchased the new nut Troy just happened to have one in stock.


    Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire
     
  9. rv4driver

    rv4driver
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    793
    95
    Location:
    Ft. Collins, Co.
    Nice build! I might have to get a Troy for my next one.
    Love that FDE!
    [​IMG]
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
Finally finished my build. Black Rifle Forum Mar 6, 2013
Finished My FINAL Build Black Rifle Forum Feb 10, 2013
Bigmoney890 Finally finished his build?! Black Rifle Forum Nov 13, 2012
Is The DNC Finally Finished With Debbie Wasserman Schultz? Political Issues Jun 25, 2012
Finished the Charger build Rimfire Forum Dec 27, 2010
Duty Gear at CopsPlus