face to face gun sales in VA, MD, DC?

Discussion in 'Maryland/D. C. Glockers' started by Leozinho, Feb 9, 2010.


  1. Hey guys,

    What are the rules on face to face gun sales in VA and MD? I'm a DC resident, and not keen on paying the $125 transfer fee at the only dealer in town (out of frugality.)

    I do know the rules regarding what I have to do in DC once I take possession.

    Thanks.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Check the MPD registration gun site rules to double check and call the MPD gun registration office. I know the transfer fee in very high comparatively speaking, but I've been through the process twice. I just fork over the money to make the process easier. I guess I balance it out because I've purchased firearms online at a cheaper price. Check a website called the gun source. Their prices are usually cheaper. Good luck.
     

  3. Transfers in Maryland can be done face to face but at a local Maryland State Police Barracks, you have to fill out the appropriate paperwork and wait for return paperwork authorization approximately ten days later to the transfer. Once the paperwork returned to you, you have 7 days to return the paperwork to MD state Police to finalize the transfer. In Virginia you can conduct the transfer at any FFL dealer your choice and it depends on the dealer on what they charge for the transfer. Once tghe buyer fills out the paperwork the dealer condcuts the insta check and once given the all clear by VA State Police the transfer can go through. No waiting period. I hope this helps.

    Andrew
     
  4. face to face is legal in va. guy one has gun guy two has money and then they switch and go home.
     

  5. But you both have to be residents of VA.

    A DC resident cannot come into VA and purchase a gun face to face from a VA resident.

    It is my understanding that the only way a DC resident can obtain a handgun is through the one FFL that charges $125 per transaction.

    Hopefully the recently submitted bills in congress will fix that.
     
    #5 vafish, May 10, 2010
    Last edited: May 10, 2010
  6. Federal law states that you cannot sell a handgun to an out of state resident.

    This is why the DC FFL charges what he does.
     

Share This Page