close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Esee4/Fallkniven F1/Tops BOB

Discussion in 'The Cutting Edge' started by adamg01, Nov 1, 2013.

1. adamg01

adamg01
    Expand Collapse

I've made up my mind on getting a quality fixed blade survival style knife. This will be a present for Xmas from the wife, I just don't know which one I want. My Griptilian was my first quality knife and now I want a good fixed blade.

I like the size of the 3 mentioned but I am pretty new to serious knives so I could use some direction. It will probably never be used for survival but I want one that could if the situation called for it. Do you have any experience with these or have any other similar sized knives that I should research? I have to admit I am partial to the 4 but still undecided. I believe the Laser Strike grips would be a little thick for comfort so scratch that one. Budget is around $125. Thanks in advance for your direction and help.

Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. officer196

officer196
    Expand Collapse

I'm by no means an expert but I do own a rat-3 and a TOPS cat. Not nearly the same as what your asking but I can tell you both are very well built knives.

3. Travclem

Travclem
    Expand Collapse
    Badass Member
    Lifetime Member

It's hard to go wrong with a Fallkniven F1, The ESSE-4 would be my second choice. Don't know if it matters to you, but the F1 is stainless (VG10) and the other 2 are carbon steel (1095)

#3 Travclem, Nov 4, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2013
  4. jtull7

jtull7
    Expand Collapse
    Pistolero
    CLM

It's hard to go wrong with any Fallkniven.

I have a NL4 FREJ, which is the predecessor of the current NL5L. NL stands for Northern Lights. Very high quality.

5. cbthedookie

cbthedookie
    Expand Collapse

I have several esee knives - great knives, just have to keep some light oil on them to prevent rust. I've been tempted to pull the trigger on a falkniven, but haven't so far.