close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

EOTech help.

Discussion in 'Black Rifle Forum' started by CaneyCat, Oct 26, 2011.


  1. CaneyCat

    CaneyCat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    234
    0
    Location:
    South Texas
    I have a Rockriver AR with the A2 front sight and carry handle. A few years back when I first started looking at AR-15's at a local gun shot I found a trade-in and it had this set-up but with a red dot mounted on the handguard, I would like to this with mine now. My question is, i'm looking at a lower end EOTech, I think it was a 517. Will it be tall enough so that the front sight does not cover the reticle yet still can use the irons? The gun I looked at years ago the reticle set right on top of the front post.

    Edit: Also forgot to mention that I will be mostly using this gun for night time hog hunting, maybe some dear hunting and plinking at the range.


    Thanks for the help.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
    #1 CaneyCat, Oct 26, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2011
  2. JASV.17

    JASV.17
    Expand Collapse
    Prime Example

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    4,913
    0
    #2 JASV.17, Oct 26, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2011
  3. CaneyCat

    CaneyCat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    234
    0
    Location:
    South Texas
    Its not right now but im thinking of freefloating it at some point. Right now I just have the stock handguard on it. I planed to get something new after I knew what red dot Would work.
     
  4. JASV.17

    JASV.17
    Expand Collapse
    Prime Example

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    4,913
    0
    I have an Eotech, and I don't even notice my FSP at all. Also check out the XPS series.
     
    #4 JASV.17, Oct 26, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2011
  5. WoodenPlank

    WoodenPlank
    Expand Collapse
    Who?

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    7,958
    3
    Location:
    NW Florida
    Instead of mounting to the handguard, you can mount it to the carry handle over the handguards with something like this. I'm sure there are higher quality versions out there than ProMag, but that's just the first one that came up on Google.
     
  6. fuzzy03cls

    fuzzy03cls
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    2,852
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    You will need that adapter to mount the Eotech to the carry handle. You should not mount it to the handgaurd because your zero will be effected by the hand guard movement.
    With that mount(or similar) you will be able to co witness the Eotech.
     
  7. KalashniKEV

    KalashniKEV
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    6,391
    3
    Location:
    NoVA
    There are really no good options here.

    1) If you go above the carry handle, your optic will be in outer space.

    2) If you go to the HGs... well you'd be making a substantial investment in a solid set of rails for a second rate solution.

    I think you should sell your RRA with A2 uppper and buy an A3 type upper (Noveske, DD, BCM) and an EXPS-2.
     
  8. MrMurphy

    MrMurphy
    Expand Collapse
    *********
    Moderator Moderator Millennium Member Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    12,972
    2
    Location:
    Buried in the X-files
    What Kev said.

    1. New upper.

    2. Better optic.
     
  9. CaneyCat

    CaneyCat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    234
    0
    Location:
    South Texas
    Thanks.
     
  10. jrs93accord

    jrs93accord
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    6,125
    146
    Location:
    Pensacola, FL
    If you are bent on mounting the EOTech, Brandon is right. This is what you want to use to do it. The only other alternative is to get the rail adapter that mounts to the carrying handle that allows you to install the EOTech right on top of your carrying handle. I had this setup one time for a while. It worked, but it was not ideal if you want to be able to co-witness your sights.

    The optimal thing to do would be to replace your A2 upper receiver with an A3 upper receiver (flat-top).
     
    #10 jrs93accord, Oct 26, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2011
  11. M1A Shooter

    M1A Shooter
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    3,605
    1
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    i have had decent luck with the gooseneck type mounts as well. ive never run an eotech on one but have used a couple aimpoints and a PA reddot setup that way.