close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

EMS care after taking down a bad guy

Discussion in 'Carry Issues' started by kylet, Dec 2, 2011.

1. kylet

kylet
    Expand Collapse

I was just thinking this over...

For any ems providers out there... if you got jumped and had to shoot the BG, would you then preform medical care for the individual? Or would you leave him be?

Lets assume that you were able to determine that the scene was safe(removed firearms/ other weapons)

Also assuming that ems care is probably coming anyway.

Any thoughts?

Outdoor Hub mobile, the outdoor information engine

Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Lord

Lord
    Expand Collapse

I would render whatever aid I could. My intention would not be to kill the BG, just stop him. ... and yes, I am an EMT.

3. Panzer

Panzer
    Expand Collapse

No I wouldn't render aid, once you shoot the guy it becomes a crime scene. If he bleeds out, well that's just too damn bad.

#3 Panzer, Dec 2, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2011
  4. BC Dan

BC Dan
    Expand Collapse

As an EMT, once he stops being a lethal threat, I would feel morally and possibly legally obligated to render aid. Then if he bleeds out, well that's just too damn bad. (to coin a phrase ;) )

5. txgunguy

txgunguy
    Expand Collapse

Paramedic here. No I wouldn't. The first rule of ANY patient care is BSI/Scene safety. (body substance isolation). Wouldn't start trying to help the person that tried to kill me especially without gloves to protect me from his blood. No way, no how.

In Texas, you do not have to act while off duty. Even if I was supposed to, I wouldn't help someone that tried to kill me or my family. I have a moral obligation against that.

6. SCmasterblaster

SCmasterblaster
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

Well, after a half-dozen rounds of WW 115gr JHP +p+ through his chest, he'll be beyond all medical help.

7. Lord270

Lord270
    Expand Collapse
    Lord270