close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Welcome to Glock Talk

Why should YOU join our Glock forum?

• Converse with other Glock Enthusiasts
  • Learn about the latest hunting products
  • Becoming a member is FREE and EASY

If you consider yourself a beginner or an avid shooter, the Glock Talk community is your place to discuss self defense, concealed carry, reloading, target shooting, and all things Glock.

DW Guardian

Discussion in '1911 Forums' started by Scratch16, Aug 9, 2011.

1. Scratch16

Scratch16

Aug 9, 2011
    NE Indiana
    Is the Guardian (9mm) as soft a shooter as a 5 inch model? I know it's an aluminum frame, so I'm wondering if it transmits more energy to the shooter.

I'm a 1911 noob, so please be gentle...

2. 20South

20South

Nov 18, 2002
    East of CBUS
    Smaller gun, lighterframe will normally lead to more energy returned to the shooter. But it's still 9mm, still a 1911, making it better on recoil than similar sized polymers.

Last edited: Aug 9, 2011
  3. drc767

drc767 Navy CSAR

Dec 30, 2007
    Tennessee
    I got two of them in yesterday as base guns for an upcoming project. I shot 50 rounds through one and was amazed how soft shooting it was. I cannot wait to see how it handles a .38 Super!! :)

4. Nice Dave. Can't wait either.

5. Quack

Quack Rent this space

Jan 7, 2002
    NE Ohio
    soft shooter. also the firing pin stop in more square which will result in less felt recoil. Hokie and knedrgr noted that the Guardian shot softer than my all steel 5" 9mm 1911.

6. rsxr22

rsxr22

Feb 25, 2009
    Youngstown, OH
    Never shot a Guardian, but I do have an EMP and i know how soft mine shoots, i would only imagine that it would be even better!

7. Scratch16

Scratch16

Aug 9, 2011
    NE Indiana
    This is what my assumption would have been had Quack and the rest of the NE corner of Ohio chimed in.

Thanks for your input!

8. Scratch16

Scratch16

Aug 9, 2011
    NE Indiana