close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Dumb *** question....Please help

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by sbstudley, Dec 9, 2004.


  1. sbstudley

    sbstudley
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    456
    1
    I have windows XP on my computer and I can not find the Microsoft Word program. Could someone please give me some directions?

    Thank you
    Steve
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Did you get the PC new with a software bundle?Word is a seperate program from XP and is normally part of Works Suit or Office Suit.These days many PC's come woth other word processing programs.I think Dell now uses Corel WordPerfect instead of Microsoft Word.You can download OpenOffice for free.I've never used WordPerfect.
     

  3. podwich

    podwich
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2000
    4,400
    87
    Location:
    MI
    You can still get Microsoft Works and Microsoft Office from Dell-you just have to pay more.

    And yes, Word will be separate from WinXP. If you bought a computer prebuilt and new from somewhere like Dell, you should have a word processor (Word, WordPerfect) installed somewhere. Check through the Start Menu. If you put this computer together yourself, you're either going to have to find the disc to install (if you bought it) or buy it. Of course, you could just get OpenOffice like previously suggested and save yourself a couple of hundred bucks or more.
     
  4. Sinister Angel

    Sinister Angel
    Expand Collapse
    I'd Hit It!

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    252
    0
    Location:
    Traverse City, Michigan
    I second the notion for openoffice.
     
  5. sbstudley

    sbstudley
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    456
    1
    I did buy my computer from dell so I guess it did not come with Microsoft Word.

    The reason I NEED Microsoft Word is because I baught some mailing lables from avery and you need Microsoft word to set it up.

    Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm...... Maybe Ebay but I am short on time as we need to send out our Christmas cards this weekend.

    Any sugestions?

    Steve
     
  6. sbstudley

    sbstudley
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    456
    1
    I am d-loading a program from Avery so I think I have it figured out.

    Thanks for all the help.

    Steve
     
  7. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    You might be able to use the Corel WordPerfect that came with your Dell.
     
  8. sbstudley

    sbstudley
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    456
    1
    The Avery labels works together with Microsoft Word I checked my word perfect program and it did not have an area to set the printer up for labels.
    Thanks for all your help. I did go to those web sights they were very good.

    Steve
     
  9. sbstudley

    sbstudley
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    456
    1
    Washington,D.C.
    Your the best.....

    With your help I was able to use my wordperfect program.
    Thank you so much

    Steve