close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Dual processor P4 Motherboard

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by bohr, Jan 23, 2005.


  1. bohr

    bohr
    Expand Collapse
    rm -rf /

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    52
    0
    Location:
    FL
    Anyone know if there are dual processor P4 motherboards out there that are not Xeon's? I'd like to build a dual proc machine with some 3 GHz processors, but do they even make dual proc motherboards? Thanks for the heads up.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. NightWolfe

    NightWolfe
    Expand Collapse
    Grumpy Glocker

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    167
    0
    Location:
    FL
    I don't think you can run P4s in Dual configuration and can't think of any mobos that support it .. why don't you want to run Xeons ?
     

  3. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    I have an older dual P3 and a fairly new dual Athlon.I don't know of any dual P4's.Dual Xeons cost more than I'm willing to spend.An excellent website is here http://www.2cpu.com
     
  4. Tennessee Slim

    Tennessee Slim
    Expand Collapse
    Señor Member
    CLM

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    4,413
    0
    Location:
    Mucus City, USA
    A single hyperthreaded P4 is effectively a multiprocessor system. If you look at the Peformance tab in Task Manager on a single-CPU HT system, it will show 2 processors. I think Intel's plan is that, if you need SMP and a single HT P4 isn't enough, then you need to step up to a Xeon (which, although hyperthreaded, also is SMP-enabled).
     
  5. NetNinja

    NetNinja
    Expand Collapse
    Always Faithful

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    967
    0
    Location:
    HotLanta, GA
    my 2 cents.

    If you are not going to be running server applications and your programs don't take advantage of it why waste the money?
     
  6. Cryptoboy

    Cryptoboy
    Expand Collapse
    Sr. Sr. Member!

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    230
    0
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    ^6

    What he said! :)

    Unless you are running a business application that needs that much processing power, you're basically just wasting your money. Most games don't have support for multiple processors yet.
     
  7. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    I wouldn't spend that sort of money to play games.The only PC games I've ever had were the ones that came with the OS's.And I never use them.
     
  8. bohr

    bohr
    Expand Collapse
    rm -rf /

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    52
    0
    Location:
    FL
    I want to upgrade my current dual P3 box and was curious if there were non-Xeon dual motherboards out there somewhere. The application of the server is computer simulations (Maxwell's equations) and the dual processors are nice for run-times. I would like some alternative to expensive Xeon processors. Thanks for the help.
     
  9. SamBuca

    SamBuca
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    317
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    I've experienced a lot of problems with GPFs when hyperthreading is enabled :(
     
  10. NightWolfe

    NightWolfe
    Expand Collapse
    Grumpy Glocker

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    167
    0
    Location:
    FL
    if you wanna run dual and don't want to run Xeons then your stuck with AMD .. really no way around it .. I run Dual Xeon 2.2s and their great ...
     
  11. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    I did find some resonably priced parts,
    ASUS PC-DL DELUXE 2XEON S604 INT 82875P motherboard-$239, INTEL P4 XEON 2.4G 533M 512K S604 BOX
    Intel P4 Xeon 2.4GHz
    Intel Socket 604-Pin
    533MHz FSB 512KB Cache
    Includes Heatsink and Cooling Fan
    3 Year Intel Direct Warranty-$249
     
  12. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    The 3Ghz Xeons cost much and require a much more expensive motherboard.I might just give the 2.4Ghz's a try.
     
  13. bohr

    bohr
    Expand Collapse
    rm -rf /

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    52
    0
    Location:
    FL
    Thanks for all the info. I may have to go the Xeon route. My current setup is ok, but will need to be changed within the year. Thanks