close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Dual Monitors

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by rfrf, Dec 30, 2008.

1. rfrf

rfrf

Apr 28, 2008
    I have a Dell Dimension 4600 XP with 4 gigs of memory. I trade stocks for a living and want to have multiple monitors. Do I need a AGP or PCI video card ? How many mbs do I need in video card ?
    Thanks for all of your help and suggestions
    RF

2. IndyGunFreak

IndyGunFreak

Jan 26, 2001
    Indiana
    Well, just looking at the specs for that computer. Its pretty old, the advantage is, if you're happy with the speed, etc, upgrading it should be cheap.

http://reviews.cnet.com/desktops/de...tium/4507-3118_7-30529709.html?tag=mncol;rnav

Assuming those specs are accurate, you have an 8x AGP slot, so all you need to do, is buy a second monitor, and buy a dual head video card. Again, just a guess on a PC that old, but I'm assuming you don't need DVI output, so just look for a dual VGA outputs, like the below (or you can use VGA/DVI adapters)

I run dual 19in screens on my main PC w/ this card... I'm sure ATI has some good offerings, but since I use Linux, I pretty much use only Nvidia...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814143102

Plug it in, hook up both monitors, boot it up, and you'll have dual screens in no time(I've set it up under Windows also)...

IGF

3. DoubleWide

DoubleWide

Sep 3, 2008
    AGP
    As long as you're not playing games, you really don't need a top of the line card for multiple monitors. Just make sure it supports what you want for monitors. Figure $50-80.

4. rfrf

rfrf

Apr 28, 2008
    Thank you for your suggestions I think they will be helpful.
    RF

5. syntaxerrorsix

syntaxerrorsix Anti-Federalist CLM

Oct 3, 2000
    Lakeland, FL.