close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Drought, corn production and food prices

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by tongix, Jul 19, 2012.

1. tongix

tongix

2. Adjuster

Adjuster

Where is this drought happening? I work in the storm business so all I have been hearing about is severe storms through the midwest, Ohio valley, Texas, Florida etc. etc..

/

3. jason10mm

jason10mm NRA-GOA-TSRA

I'm not buying it. According to this article http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052748703396604576088010481315914.html?mod=googlenews_wsj 40% of the US corn crop goes to ETHANOL. So why not stop all ethanol production and use that corn for feed and food?

Now obviously this would cause a 10% gas deficit in the US since ethanol accounts for 10% of our gas. So we would need to come up with 14 billion gallons. But since the energy yield of converting corn to ethanol is so low I'm not sure the math would be that bad. So gas prices might jump 50-60 cents and that would impact goods and services, but wouldn't it be far better for everyone involved (except perhaps, for ethanol refiners)?

4. VELO

VELO

A good friend of mine has lost his corn crop in Kansas for the second year in a row. 104 in Wichita yesterday. No significant rain in the forecast. He tells me his soybeans are next if no rain comes soon.

5. Adjuster

Adjuster

Here in Florida all agriculture is mechanically watered on a daily basis. Do they not do this around the rest of the country?

[​IMG]

/

6. Dave.1

Dave.1

That's upsetting to hear about your friend, VELO. The farmers will get hit first and the consumers next.

Adjuster, most of the grain belt depends on the High Plains Aquifer (at least that's what it used to be called) to supplement the rain and stream irrigation. The Aquifer has been vastly depleted over the past decade due to water shortages in rain and runoff.

Dave

7. VELO

VELO