close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Doom 3

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by RaiderRodney, Aug 11, 2004.


  1. RaiderRodney

    RaiderRodney
    Expand Collapse
    Just Win Baby

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    504
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    So, who has it and how is it? Should I go ahead and get it or wait? I am submersed in Star Wars Galaxies at the moment anyway ;f
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. AZ-Boog

    AZ-Boog
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    531
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, Arizona
    I do.

    Fantastic!


    Get it!

    You won't be sorry.

    best played late at night with headphones or surround sound speakers (if no one else at home to wake up).
     

  3. AZ-Boog

    AZ-Boog
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    531
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, Arizona
    I do.

    Fantastic!


    Get it!

    You won't be sorry.

    best played late at night with headphones or surround sound speakers (if no one else at home to wake up).
     
  4. gabriel999

    gabriel999
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    18
    0
    Location:
    Mexico
    Is it available for the Playstation II or only PC?
     
  5. Halo

    Halo
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 1999
    222
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    PC only. It will be released on X-Box later.
     
  6. fastvfr

    fastvfr
    Expand Collapse
    Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    2,344
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    Here is another 'Heck Yeah' vote for DIII.

    One thing: You need at least 384MB of RAM, a Radeon 9200/FX5600 equiv vid card, and a decent proc to play it at all, even on Super Low settings.

    A monster rig is needed to turn up the eye candy while maintaining a playable framerate.

    Luckily, I just happen to have a monster rig.;b No, not Alienware. Better, since I sourced all components and built it myself.

    I am guessing that if your system gets under 3,000 points in 3DMark03, you will want to upgrade to play this game in all its glory.

    Last time I ran it, I got 5996, so I know I am okay...

    Best regards,

    FastVFR
     
  7. Halo

    Halo
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 1999
    222
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    I am running a P4 3GHz with 1gb of low latency PC3200, a Radeon 9600 XT, and even with that setup I have to keep the settings pretty low. The video card is the weak link in the chain, but I'm hardly in the mood to drop another $400 on a newer one. 800x600 doesn't look -that- bad in D3 :)
     
  8. Johnnyvegas

    Johnnyvegas
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    319
    0
    Location:
    Idaho Panhandle
    AMD Athlon XP 1700+, 640 megs, Nvidia GE Force 4Ti 4200.........will that work?

    Wondering in Waashington?
     
  9. Darkmage

    Darkmage
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2001
    397
    0
    Location:
    Purgatory, Virginia
    Yes. You may not be able to run 1600x1200 with high-res textures, but you should be okay at 1024x768 with medium settings.

    I have a coworker running 1600x1200 with medium settings and a 1900+ Athlon & 9800 Pro. He reports "acceptable" framerates.
     
  10. RaiderRodney

    RaiderRodney
    Expand Collapse
    Just Win Baby

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    504
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Sounds good I will have to purchase it! I should be ok on my PC, I just installed X800 pro oc'd with atitool, with P4 2.4GHZ, 1 Gb of 2300 RAM :) Should be suitable for 1024 X 768 shouldn't it? Thanks for all the comments everyone!
     
  11. Clyde

    Clyde
    Expand Collapse
    Lost in KY
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 1999
    549
    1
    Location:
    KY
    D3 Rocks :)
     
  12. Cuter Shooter

    Cuter Shooter
    Expand Collapse
    Packin' Mama

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    16
    0
    Location:
    Brazos Valley
    I have the same system. Score 37.4 fps in the timedemo at 800x600 High Quality.

    And,yes....it looks good.
     
  13. tgtshuter

    tgtshuter
    Expand Collapse
    Too Beaucoup

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    169
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Hey Halo,
    My set-up is similar to yours. I too had a 9600, then got a good price on a 9800 Pro ($50 rebate). It made a huge diiference. It's still not cheap, but...


    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?id=1051384719568&skuId=5379798&type=product

    Also, ATI has a "trade up" program where you trade in any graphic card for a price reduction on a choice of several ATI cards. The 9800 Pro can be had this way for $199.00

    http://shop.ati.com/tradeup.asp
     
  14. TheSniper

    TheSniper
    Expand Collapse
    Projectile Mgr.

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    303
    0
    Location:
    WheatRidge,Co.US
    D3 is awsome, i just wish I had more time to play. Right now Im 70 hrs work, maybe 2 hrs play time a week,the rest spent on my riding implements(dirt bike,atv,wife).;f ;c
     
  15. Halo

    Halo
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 1999
    222
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    I might try the 9800, but I normally like to leapfrog rather than buying successive models. I've only had the 9600 for a year and thought it was a fairly high end board at the time. It's been struggling though!
     
  16. Expand Collapse
    Guest

    I have an X800 Pro, P4 2.8E @ 3.4GHz, 1GB PC4000 and I can play at 1280x1024 (my LCD's max res)on high with 8xAniso and it dips towards the 30's in busy areas, but normally sits around 50-60FPS.

    I am finding that I am rapidly growing bored of Doom 3 though, some of the textures are flat and boring and after the creepy effect wears off, it gets rather repetetive. Walk, walk, shoot, shoot, find PDA, open door, repeat.

    I can't wait for HL2 myself :)
     
  17. jack19512

    jack19512
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    716
    0
    Location:
    Hazard Ky
    "Also, ATI has a "trade up" program where you trade in any graphic card for a price reduction on a choice of several ATI cards. The 9800 Pro can be had this way for $199.00"





    Just bought a 9800 PRO from New Egg for $199.00 and didn't have to trade my other card in.
     
  18. resqtech245

    resqtech245
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    10
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Doom 3 is very cool. Bought it Monday and I'm addicted to it.

    My biggest complaint is the lack a tactical light on the pistol, shotgun of SMG :(

    I guess that is what the Duct Tape mod is for.......
     
  19. Blah!

    Blah!
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2002
    500
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    The game rocks!!!! Whole new level of visuals....its amazing i cant get enough:)
     
  20. RaiderRodney

    RaiderRodney
    Expand Collapse
    Just Win Baby

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    504
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Dang! I guess my 6,371 on 3dMark03 is pretty good then for my system! I am happy with it ;f a little suprised honestly...