close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Doom 3 has gone gold! August 5th is the day!

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Darkmage, Jul 16, 2004.


  1. Darkmage

    Darkmage
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2001
    397
    0
    Location:
    Purgatory, Virginia
    I can't believe I didn't see this in here already... perhaps my old eyes are failing me, but I didn't see a thread that stated Doom 3 has gone gold!

    For those of you who don't know what that means, it means that they are mostly done with it and are preparing the packaging, mass CD creation and the like in preparation for shipping. August 5th is the latest and greatest release date.

    Woohoo!!!
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. AZ-Boog

    AZ-Boog
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    531
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, Arizona
    can.....not.....WAIT.....for.....this!!!!!!


    ;+
     

  3. Wulfenite

    Wulfenite
    Expand Collapse
    The King

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2000
    1,861
    0
    Location:
    Pretty Fly for a White Guy
    Just PC or will it go to console games too?
     
  4. NetNinja

    NetNinja
    Expand Collapse
    Always Faithful

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    967
    0
    Location:
    HotLanta, GA
    Console YUK!

    I don't think the Console would be able to handle it.(well if they optimize for the console it will) For that matter probably most lower end PC machines won't either unless you turn the details to thier lowest settings.
     
  5. vertigo7

    vertigo7
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    125
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    System requirements?
     
  6. fastvfr

    fastvfr
    Expand Collapse
    Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    2,344
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    From what I have read, the requirements for enabling all possible eye-candy will be steep...like P4 2.8C/E or better, an 800MHz FSB mainboard with 1GB RAM, and a ATI 9800/FX 5900 or better video solution. Lots of people will upgrade to the uber-expensive FX 6800 Ultra or ATI X800 cards because of this game.

    But it should be playable with low detail settings on any P4/Athlon K7 with 512MB RAM and a vid card of GeForce FX5700/Radeon 9600 or better.

    Word is that this title is optimized for nVidia drivers, whereas HalfLife2 will run better on ATI cards.

    All I can say is, it's about time!! I was beginning to think this was another 'Duke Nukem Forever' vaporware title...

    Best regards,

    FastVFR
     
  7. NetNinja

    NetNinja
    Expand Collapse
    Always Faithful

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    967
    0
    Location:
    HotLanta, GA
    Here is something that is puzzling.

    Why didn't they release a Doom 3 demo first? hmmmm

    This smells of marketing hype to the max and then be disapointed when you get home.

    When they released the demo for Unreal Tournamnet 2003 I thought the game sucked. Althoguh most people thought the game was awesome.
    Whatever graphic engine they used to generate the characters I thoguht was crappy.

    They released a demo for Unreal Tournament 2004 and the game rocked.
    They had gone with another character generator and I thought the grahics and gameplay were years ahead of 2003.

    Althoguh you could almost say it's a HALO clone.
     
  8. vertigo7

    vertigo7
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    125
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    id reveals DOOM 3 demo coming

    Emphasis added by me:
    This makes zero sense to me.
     
  9. Darkmage

    Darkmage
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2001
    397
    0
    Location:
    Purgatory, Virginia
    I think id knows that they don't really need a demo at first. The hype and anticipation for this game is enough that they will do very well as soon as it hits the shelve.

    Once the game sells out the "gotta have it - gimmiegimmiegimmie" market, they can release the demo and those people who are worried if the game will run on their system can try it out.

    Besides, if your game was already a year over due and you had Half Life 2 snipping at your heals... would you wait another four weeks to get a demo out there and wait for it to penetrate the market?

    It is curious, but it does make sense in a way.
     
  10. younggenious

    younggenious
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    207
    0
    Location:
    Southern TX
    I can't wait for D3 or HL2... I'll need to upgrade at least my video card though.
     
  11. NetNinja

    NetNinja
    Expand Collapse
    Always Faithful

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    967
    0
    Location:
    HotLanta, GA