close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Welcome to Glock Talk

Why should YOU join our Glock forum?

• Converse with other Glock Enthusiasts
  • Learn about the latest hunting products
  • Becoming a member is FREE and EASY

If you consider yourself a beginner or an avid shooter, the Glock Talk community is your place to discuss self defense, concealed carry, reloading, target shooting, and all things Glock.

Does "printing" really matter, legally?

Discussion in 'Carry Issues' started by debbert, Jul 14, 2011.

1. debbert

debbert

Apr 20, 2011
    North Perry, OH
    Just curious. I am brand new to handgun ownership. I just purchased a Glock 26 for concealed purposes (as soon as I take the required course and get my permit).

I'm curious about "printing". While I am aware that being as stealth as possible is the goal. When it comes down to it on a legal standpoint, does "printing" matter? If the firearm is covered, it's concealed, right?

If someone thinks it might be a firearm, due to printing, it's still concealed if it's covered by a shirt or jacket or whatnot, right?

Those that are not "in-the-know" might think it's a cell phone, blackberry, iPod or some other device. Does it matter if our firearms "print" on occasion, as long as they are completely concealed?

Thoughts?

2. Angry Fist

Angry Fist The Original® Lifetime Member

Dec 30, 2009
    Hellbilly Hill
    Not in an open carry state, where legal. Where OC is illegal, there could be issues. Someone more knowledgeable will be along shortly.

3. SuperSleuth

SuperSleuth

Feb 27, 2010
    It depends on how your state's concealed carry law is written. I'd suggest looking it up and reading it. This would also be an excellent question to ask your instructor when you take the course.

4. debbert

debbert

Apr 20, 2011
    North Perry, OH
    I will ask the instructor. For the record, I live in an open-carry state.

5. cowboy1964

cowboy1964

Sep 4, 2009
    U.S.A.