close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Does it matter which empty slots that you plug your RAM into?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Mr. PC, Jun 7, 2007.


  1. Mr. PC

    Mr. PC
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    171
    0
    (I have two sticks of 512MB RAM)

    I had first stick in slot #1 and second stick in slot #3, leaving slots #2 and #4 empty.

    I just moved the RAM to slots #1 and #2, leaving slots #3 and #4 empty.

    Does it matter? What is better?

    Heat? Performance?
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. chbix

    chbix
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    106
    0
    Location:
    Reno NV
    nope, it shouldnt matter, obviously the computer is recognizing both sticks. I would think that it would be beneficial from a heat stand point to run them in slot 1 and 4, but i dont think your going to see that big of a difference if your running a good cooling set up.
     

  3. HAVOC

    HAVOC
    Expand Collapse
    Remember
    Millennium Member CLM

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 1999
    5,054
    0
    Location:
    Location: Location:
    Assuming it's the IS7 you linked in another thread, then YES, it does matter.

    From the IS-7 Manaul:

    For functionality, not it doesn't matter. But running matching sticks in DIMM1 and DIMM3 will perform better than DIMM1 and DIMM2.
     
  4. malkore

    malkore
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    434
    0
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    as stated, it DOES matter if you've got a board with DDR slots.

    in order to get the Dual Data Rate advantage you have to install matched memory sticks in the correct 'paired' memory slots, or you take a hit on your potential performance.
     
  5. HAVOC

    HAVOC
    Expand Collapse
    Remember
    Millennium Member CLM

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 1999
    5,054
    0
    Location:
    Location: Location:
    It's actually a dual-channel dual data rate issue. Not all DDR is DC. The board in question is dual-channel is though.
     
  6. jtull7

    jtull7
    Expand Collapse
    Pistolero
    CLM

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    6,150
    13
    Location:
    Santa Fe, New Mexico
    Ram your plug into? I say it matters!
     
  7. RaiderRodney

    RaiderRodney
    Expand Collapse
    Just Win Baby

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    504
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Yeah if it's DDR it does matter and motherboard companies are different in how they setup for this. Some us same color such as blue/black/blue/black and you plug into the 2 blues for DDR. Others do just the opposite and you would plug two sticks into blue and black. Best to just check your MB specs and see what they recommend.
     
  8. chbix

    chbix
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    106
    0
    Location:
    Reno NV
    sorry about that i wasnt even thinking about the dual channel ddr thing, they are right, my bad.
     
  9. Patrick Graham

    Patrick Graham
    Expand Collapse
    Footlong Jr.

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    1,953
    0
    Location:
    Kokomo Indiana
    Good one.. wish I'd have said that.. :animlol:
     
  10. FastZ

    FastZ
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    36
    0
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Yes, it does matter. There should ALWAYS be a stick of RAM in slot #1. Slots #1 and #3 are "related" and slots #2 and #4 are "related". If you have two sticks of RAM and you want to use both of them, put the faster of the two sticks in slot #1 and the other in #3. If you have three, then have RAM in slots #1, #3, and lastly #2 and so on and so forth.
     
  11. Mr. PC

    Mr. PC
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    171
    0
    HAVOC and FastZ, thanks!

    I have moved my RAM sticks back to slot #1 and slot #3.

    :)