close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Welcome to Glock Talk

Why should YOU join our Glock forum?

• Converse with other Glock Enthusiasts
  • Learn about the latest hunting products
  • Becoming a member is FREE and EASY

If you consider yourself a beginner or an avid shooter, the Glock Talk community is your place to discuss self defense, concealed carry, reloading, target shooting, and all things Glock.

Do I want a QR scope mount or Traditional Scope mount?

Discussion in 'Black Rifle Forum' started by NEO Hunter, Apr 23, 2013.

1. NEO Hunter

NEO Hunter

Mar 19, 2012
    I have narrowed my scope mount search to a LaRue, Rock River, or Burris PEPR. What I can't decide is if I want to get a QR and run a flip up rear sight as a back up or save the money and just mount with a traditional mount.I dont see myself taking it off much but I am new to ARs so I am not familiar with the benefits. I am using the rifle for coyote hunting and a little plinking. All opinions appreciated.

Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire

2. faawrenchbndr

faawrenchbndr DirtyThirty fan CLM

Nov 24, 2005
    Troy
    Does not sound as if you even need back up sights.
    Get a quality set of rings and a good scope.

3. WoodenPlank

WoodenPlank Who?

May 15, 2010
    NW Florida
    I try to avoid non-QD scope mounts. If the scope gets wrecked, you can drop it from the rifle in a few seconds, deploy iron sights, and continue on. Plus, it makes swapping optics easier.

If you go QD, it's really hard to beat LaRue. I use LT mounts for both my Leupold and my Aimpoint Micro.

4. PVolk

PVolk

Oct 2, 2009
    Michigan
    I prefer QR mounts for scopes and bipods. If you ever think you'll want to remove the scope, it's nice to know you won't need to spend time and ammo getting back to zero again.

5. WoodenPlank

WoodenPlank Who?

May 15, 2010
    NW Florida
    Depends on the mount. Some return to zero better than others.

6. PVolk

PVolk

Oct 2, 2009
    Michigan