Dinged up 40 S&W brass

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by FLSlim, Jul 7, 2010.

1. Maybe this should go to General or Gunsmithing, but you reloaders might be in the best position to comment. I started shooting and reloading a G23 about 4 or 5 months ago. All the ejected cases (regardless of make) show nicks at the case mouth and V-shaped scar extending from the case mouth for about one-quarter inch down the case. This occurs both with the Glock and a LW barrel. If it wasn't happening with both barrels, I would think maybe it was a loading ramp that needed some smoothing, but?? Anyhow, I have two questions: any ideas of what could be causing the brass damage, and, while I have continued to reload this brass (with no problem that I can see), would any of you forumers have concern with doing that?

Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Loading...

Similar Threads Forum Date
    Front sight a little dinged - fixable or should I replace? Sights, Optics and Lasers Nov 11, 2012
    UPS man here!! Ugh part dinged... Black Rifle Forum Jul 30, 2012
    P226R Question..My frame getting dinged. The Sig Sauer Club Oct 31, 2010
    Are brass jags safe to use in a Glock barrel? General Glocking Tuesday at 2:07 PM
    WTT: Blazer Brass .40 S&W ammo (RI) Gun Parts & Accessories Sep 27, 2015

3. GioaJack

GioaJack Conifer Jack

Slim, it's just a result of the ejection process. Depending on the design of the gun some will do it and other designs not. It occurs when the case hits either the barrel hood or part of the ejection port... again, depending on the design.

Your sizing die and flare will will bring it back to loadable condition. Don't lose sleep over it.

4. Just like jack said. It's Normal
  5. DWARREN123

DWARREN123 Grumpy Old Guy

Possibly the recoil spring. The brass is not clearing the ejection port fully.
    Mine does not mark the brass.

DEADLYACCURATE Senior Member

My Glocks do it with my hotter loads