close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Dell Trouble?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by glockess56, Oct 21, 2004.


  1. glockess56

    glockess56
    Expand Collapse
    CLM

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    1,105
    1
    Location:
    Dublin, Ohio
    Has anyone had trouble with their DELL pc's? I've had mine for six months and it goes off and I can't get it back on. I've called/emailed, etc about five times. They tell me to plug/unplug it from the wall and to unplug/plug it from the cpu tower, etc. After that, it doesn't work again. I get a new computer and I have to do all that to keep it up and running? Has anyone else had this problem with DELL pcs? Mine is the DELL Dimension 8300. I'd be anxious to hear any suggestions. I get tired of call their tech service people and waiting for ever on the phone.:soap: :soap:
     
  2. MrsKitty

    MrsKitty
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    18,802
    31
    Location:
    >^..^<
    Bad power supply?

    I would call and "suggest" that they start attempting to REPAIR my computer. If calling don't work, write.
     

  3. BikerGoddess

    BikerGoddess
    Expand Collapse
    Got hairspray?

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    1,327
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    I've found it can take upwards of 45 seconds for mine to come back on after I've opened the lid. Is yours doing that or does it just go out while you're working?

    I have the Latitude and have been though several (almost a dozen swaps in 3 years). Last time I wasn't able to run it on the power supply, battery only. Fortunately, it's a work machine and I just take it in and ask for a new one.

    Laura
     
  4. Glock Bob

    Glock Bob
    Expand Collapse
    Snack Attack!!!

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    405
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    I've had my 8100 for over 3 years. Best PC I've ever had.

    When you say it "goes off", do you mean after you shut it down, or it just shuts off by itself?
     
  5. glockess56

    glockess56
    Expand Collapse
    CLM

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    1,105
    1
    Location:
    Dublin, Ohio
    My desktop dimension 8600 shuts off by itself if I don't shut it down. Then, when I push the little button in the middle to activate it, nothing happens. Some times a uh uh groaning sound happens. Sometimes, though, it even works. The last two days it has worked. That's what I mean by it shutting down.