close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Welcome to Glock Talk

Why should YOU join our Glock forum?

  • Converse with other Glock Enthusiasts
  • Learn about the latest hunting products
  • Becoming a member is FREE and EASY

If you consider yourself a beginner or an avid shooter, the Glock Talk community is your place to discuss self defense, concealed carry, reloading, target shooting, and all things Glock.

"Dangerous weapons permit"

Discussion in 'Free Fire Zone' started by JakeFromStateFarm, Mar 17, 2013.

  1. JakeFromStateFarm

    JakeFromStateFarm .40 S&W

    156
    0
    Dec 14, 2012
    California
    So I was on the "Calguns forum" and I saw sombody mention a "dangerous weapons permit" wich let him legally own a rifle with a barrel length shorter than 16" in the state of California. Can anybody fill me in on this permit and or what it allows and dosent allow?
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2013
  2. Pilotdude3407

    Pilotdude3407

    191
    0
    Nov 25, 2012
    West GA
    I'm wondering if they were mocking (or just misinformed) on the ownership of a class 3 weapon. I am not sure what you can do in CA, but a weapon that is considered a short barreled rifle (SBR) is a class 3 weapon and requires you to send in special forms to the ATF along with a $200 check and after a 6-9 month waiting period (because they are backed up) you will receive your class 3 paperwork and you can go get your weapon. It should be noted that the class 3 paperwork is for the gun, not for you. (I.e you have to do the same paperwork, $200 tax and waiting period per class 3 item). Other items including in class 3 are full auto machine guns, suppressors, short barreled shock guns, explosive ordinances, etc. Again, this is mandated by the federal government and individual states may have their own additional laws on top of it, so I am not sure about CA.
     


  3. DustyJacket

    DustyJacket Directiv 10-289

    6,576
    236
    Oct 16, 2008
    Missouri, East of KC
    He was 100% BSing you.
     
  4. JakeFromStateFarm

    JakeFromStateFarm .40 S&W

    156
    0
    Dec 14, 2012
    California
    Kinda what I'm thinking. What does a "dangerous Weapons permit" let you legally own and what does it still restrict?
     
  5. DustyJacket

    DustyJacket Directiv 10-289

    6,576
    236
    Oct 16, 2008
    Missouri, East of KC
    Class II refers to a type of dealer.

    NFA Title II refers to the item.

    NFA Title I are ordinary firearms.

    You are correct, everyone (including police agencies) have to submit the proper paperwork and await approval on each item. Govt agencies use a 'form 5' which does not require the $200 tax stamp.

    We require the $200 tax stamp for a 'form 4' (buy something already built) or a 'form 1' (building your own).

    Those are federal requirements.
    Anything the state requires would add on top of the federal requirements.

    I believe CA doesn't allow civilian ownership of silencers.
    Don't know about SBR or SBS.
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2013
  6. DustyJacket

    DustyJacket Directiv 10-289

    6,576
    236
    Oct 16, 2008
    Missouri, East of KC
    There is no such thing.

    There are we sites that will sell all sorts of 'novelty' ID cards and such.
    They are worth even less than the paper they are printed on.
     
  7. http://ag.ca.gov/firearms/forms/pdf/FD030DWApp.pdf

    Have a great gun carryin' Kenpo day

    Clyde
     
  8. WoodenPlank

    WoodenPlank Who?

    7,958
    3
    May 15, 2010
    NW Florida
    Looks like the CA state version of a Class III SOT. I don't see anything on there about being able to get one as anything other than a business.
     
  9. All he said was they didn't exist, I proved him wrong. What part of that post did I infer anything else???

    Have a great gun carryin' Kenpo day

    Clyde
     
  10. DustyJacket

    DustyJacket Directiv 10-289

    6,576
    236
    Oct 16, 2008
    Missouri, East of KC
    And, you were right.

    What I should have said is that there is no such thing that overrides the Federal laws requiring an approved Form 1, 3, 4, or 5.
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2013