close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Danger Danger Message???????

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Nicky D, May 22, 2009.


  1. Nicky D

    Nicky D
    Expand Collapse
    CLM

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    2,430
    1
    Location:
    Souderton, Pa.
    Weird problem that I could not find an answer to on google. The other morning as I was getting ready for work my pc that I built last year blurted out "Danger, Danger" just like the Will Robinson robot. I was like WTF!??? No messages on the screen. I only had 1 web page up and the Zune software running. The system is running Vista Ultimate 64bit.

    Now this morning my really old pc in my daughters room has blurted the same thing several times. That system is running XP 32 bit and is not currently connected to the internet. It has not been connected for a few months now.

    I can't find anything pertaining to this. I appreciate any helping in figuring out this crazy message.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,696
    982
    Location:
    Indiana
    That is strange, my first thought was going to be a Popup of some type(maybe for the homepage on both PC's), but if the other PC is not on the internet, that rules that out. I would go through the system sounds, and see if you can find what triggers that sound... Maybe it just happens to be a similar setting you have on both PCs...

    of course, then theres the possibility it didn't come from your PC's, and it just sounded like it did.

    Weird..

    IGF
     

  3. BigSexy

    BigSexy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    489
    0
    Location:
    Fargo ND
    5/22/09 0624GMT Skynet becomes self aware...
     
  4. RaiderRodney

    RaiderRodney
    Expand Collapse
    Just Win Baby

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    504
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    lol :thumbsup:
     
  5. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,696
    982
    Location:
    Indiana
    :rofl::rofl:
     
  6. MavsX

    MavsX
    Expand Collapse
    The Dude Abides

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    3,033
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    that is what i was thinking man
     
  7. Nicky D

    Nicky D
    Expand Collapse
    CLM

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    2,430
    1
    Location:
    Souderton, Pa.

    :rofl::rofl::50cal::50cal:
    It definitely had to come from the pc. That is the only thing in my daughter's room that could have made the noise. The pc in the livingroom is hooked up to my receiver and the sound definitely came through my speakers. I can't even imagine what settings I could have that would trigger that especially on 2 different operating systems. I was thinking that just maybe it is a bios battery issue but have not been able to find anything that confirms that. Oh well, time to dig a little deeper and to lock and load for when Skynet comes!
     
  8. Nicky D

    Nicky D
    Expand Collapse
    CLM

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    2,430
    1
    Location:
    Souderton, Pa.
    WTF!!!! It just happened on my 3rd PC!!! I rarely use this one and it was just built in December so there should be not issues.

    The only thing that I can think of off the top of my head that is common with all 3 pc's is I am using AVG anti-virus on all of them. They each have a different version but none the less. When I check my anti-virus stuff nothing comes up as being a problem. This is going to drive me crazy now.
     
  9. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,696
    982
    Location:
    Indiana
    Hmm, so the common link between all of them, is AVG.. Are you using a software between on all of them?.. Perhaps it is being compromised. Are you behind a router/firewall?.. Is it being compromised.

    If its doing this on three machines, I suspect some sort of network intrusion.. but that is strictly a guess.

    IGF
     
  10. Nicky D

    Nicky D
    Expand Collapse
    CLM

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    2,430
    1
    Location:
    Souderton, Pa.

    I would agree with the network intrusion but my oldest pc that is an XP machine is not connected to the network and has been off the net for a couple of months now. The only thing that was running on that pc at the time was Media player in the background, not even playing something. No one was using the pc at the time. When it just happened to me a little while ago I was bookmarking a website. The first time it happened that I know of no one was actually using the pc.

    I did just find something that said it may be related to flashplayer but I do not know how or what could trigger it.

    I find it hard to believe that it is AVG due to the fact that all 3 systems have a different version on them and the oldest pc has not been updated in months since it has not been connected to the net. I am stumped and can't really find anything online.
     
  11. lee2

    lee2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    2,578
    0
    Location:
    md
    Itz the weeeed maaaannnnnnn.......:cool:
     
  12. ron59

    ron59
    Expand Collapse
    Bustin Caps

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    6,927
    20
    Location:
    Smyrna, GA
    Found this with quick Google search:

    Sounds like the possible culprit.
     
  13. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,696
    982
    Location:
    Indiana
    Man, that is one weird situation.... Well, it will be tedius, but like I said, I'd go through the sound events settings, and see what that event is tied to... then work your way from there.

    And you're sure there is no way this can be any sort of virus, right?

    IGF
     
  14. Nicky D

    Nicky D
    Expand Collapse
    CLM

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    2,430
    1
    Location:
    Souderton, Pa.
    I saw that too but we don't use IM at all so I doubt it is that.

    Not that a virus isn't possible but I find it hard to believe considering that it is on all 3 pc's, especially since one is not connected to the net.
     
  15. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,696
    982
    Location:
    Indiana
    Seems unlikely, since one machine isn't connected to the internet at all.

    IGF
     
  16. axelangel007

    axelangel007
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    2
    0
    change your operating system to 32 bit, maybe your anti virus is not for 64 bit o.s. , try downloading to 64 bit, if problem is still there , need to format and change to vista 32 bit,
     
  17. Nicky D

    Nicky D
    Expand Collapse
    CLM

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    2,430
    1
    Location:
    Souderton, Pa.

    Most likely won't do anything since the one pc is 32bit XP and the AVG is definitely compatible with it. On my 64 bit machines I made sure that the av specs included 64bit computability.


    I appreciate everyone's suggestions, just wish we could figure this out.
     
  18. Patrick Graham

    Patrick Graham
    Expand Collapse
    Footlong Jr.

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    1,953
    0
    Location:
    Kokomo Indiana
    It would be interesting to look in the event logs.
     
  19. Dandapani

    Dandapani
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    8,213
    4
    Location:
    Gulf side Florida
    http://forum.kaspersky.com/lofiversion/index.php/t41404.html

    23.06.2007 13:00
    Hello, I was replying to an email just now using my gmail (googlemail) account when through my speakers I heard quite clearly a mysterious synthesized voice saying "Danger Danger"?

    Does anyone know where this sound originates from as I have not been able to trace it from any of my installed software. I was wondering if this could be some sort of virus? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  20. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,696
    982
    Location:
    Indiana
    Wouldn't you know it.. Fixed this problem at a friends house today.

    It was a network issue w/ a software firewall... Not sure if that helps you out or not.

    Go figure.

    IGF