cracked my Laptop screen

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by raven11, Sep 10, 2012.

1. After the daily abuses of college life. My laptop couldn't take it any more and now has a good crack in the LCD screen.

I watched some youtube videos and I think I'm going to try to fix it on my own (I know famous last words) I have some experience building a PC so i'm not totally mechanically illiterate
    Does anyone have any website recommendations for replacement laptop screens? and are there any quirks I should be aware of while replacing the screen?

Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
    #1 raven11, Sep 10, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2012
  2. Loading...

Similar Threads Forum Date
    Cracked laptop case Tech Talk Mar 10, 2005
    Cracked .357/.38 Special Casing Reloading Jul 22, 2015
    Cracked Windshield The Okie Corral Mar 9, 2015
    Alternative reading to cracked? The Okie Corral Dec 7, 2014
    Is this a cracked slide? General Glocking Jul 22, 2014

3. 1) Try to get an OEM part from a reputable vendor. I do not have any recommendations for screens, sorry.

2) Take a lot of pictures as you disassemble it, this will help put it back together.

3) Do it in a quiet, neat environment with lots of room to work. Keep track of all the tiny screws & have some small screwdrivers handy.

4. Good advice to follow from Dr.Jones. I have replaced numerous laptop screens over the years. What make/model laptop is it? That will help in suggesting a good screen vendor. I use different ones for different brands.

Also, the best thing you can do is try to get yourself a hardware maintenance manual for the model laptop you have. Most manufacturers put them out on their sites in pdf format. I have one for all the models in my current environment. They help tremendously when replacing parts like this.

5. Thank you!