close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Copper and chokes

Discussion in 'Gunsmithing' started by cgaler, Apr 15, 2011.

  1. cgaler

    cgaler CGALEUSMC

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mid-Mo
    What is the reason they say not to shoot copper plated shot through a choke tube??? What could it possibly hurt???? Thanks,
     
  2. Tom in Arizona

    Tom in Arizona

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Munds Park, AZ
    Who would possibly say that? They shoot steel through tubes and I use copper plated shot through my extra full turkey tube with no problems.
     

  3. cgaler

    cgaler CGALEUSMC

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mid-Mo
    The choke tube says use lead only ???
     
  4. Tom in Arizona

    Tom in Arizona

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Munds Park, AZ
    If it says it then use lead only? Probably only engineered for that. And buy a different choke tube to use plated or steel shot.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2011