close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Connection/Router help

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by utah, Oct 8, 2012.


  1. utah

    utah
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    544
    7
    Location:
    Virginia
    Have a problem I hope somebody here can help with. First off I’m S-T-U-P-I-D when it comes to computers so talk to me like I’m a 6 year old. Anyway, have a netgear router that seems to be working however I keep getting a failure to connect from both my Ipad and computer. So I’ve connected the “main” line directly into the computer, however I get an “unable to connect” message…after running Windows diagnostic I’m able to connect to the net. Any idea what’s going on or something I may have done? As always thanks for the help.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,699
    982
    Location:
    Indiana
    Do you know how to log into the router? My first thought would be to reset the router and start over.
     

    #2 IndyGunFreak, Oct 8, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2012
  3. Green_Manelishi

    Green_Manelishi
    Expand Collapse
    Knicker Knotter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    4,716
    0
    Location:
    On the edge but not quite over ...
    Was it working reliably, and now it is not? Have you rebooted everything? Occasionally my connection(s) are hosed but a reboot puts everything back ship-shape in Bristol fashion.
     
  4. DoubleWide

    DoubleWide
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    3,858
    76
    Is this a modem and router in one or do you have two separate pieces?

    If you have modem and router in one or got both from your internet provider, call them.

    If you have two separate, unplug both power wise for a minute then plug them back in.
     
  5. utah

    utah
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    544
    7
    Location:
    Virginia
    No idea how to log into Router.
    Yes everything was working great, then one day last week couldn’t get on with Ipad. Thinking something had gotten unplugged, checked and all was good, but couldn’t get on computer either.
    Purchased myself.
    Last week when this started, I unplugged the line from the router and plugged it into the computer, however I get an “unable to connect” message. After running Windows diagnostics I’m able to get on the net; however the router is useless as it isn’t connected.
     
  6. gemeinschaft

    gemeinschaft
    Expand Collapse
    AKA Fluffy316

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    2,181
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Connect your router as it was.

    Using a network cable, connect you computer to the router.

    If you have Windows 7 - go to the Start menu, type "CMD" in the search bar the bottom. Press "Enter"

    If you have Windows XP - Start Menu, Click "Run", type "CMD" and press Enter.

    This will give you a command prompt (a black screen with white writing).

    Type "ipconfig /release" Press Enter
    Type "ipconfig /renew" Press Enter

    Wait and see if it connects to the router.

    If so, then type "ipconfig /all"

    Look at all the information that comes up and under the LAN (Local Area Network) connection.

    Write down the IP address of the "Default Gateway" - this is the address of your router.

    For instance, it may be 192.168.1.1

    Type that exact IP address into your web browser and press enter.

    This should get you into the Web Interface of your Router.


    Side Note - I have seen many times where a router and Modem share the same IP address; if this is the case, you will have all sorts of problems. You can follow the steps above when connected to your modem directly to find out what IP address is being passed from your router.

    Here is a link to an article that I wrote that helps explains Networking 101 - http://cookingcomputersandmore.com/?page_id=113
     
    #6 gemeinschaft, Oct 13, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2012