close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Computer virus

Discussion in 'Band of Glockers' started by vega, Dec 4, 2005.


  1. vega

    vega
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    2,799
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    Guys I need your help. My computer has been affected by Trojan Vundo. I tried scannng it with Norton anti-virus but only succedeed to quarantine it. And this pesky window (VIRUS ALERT) keeps popping up. A friend told me to download Microsoft anti-spyware and use that to scan my computer. I just want to hear second - third opinions.

    TIA,
    vega
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. isuzu

    isuzu
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    4,072
    0
    Location:
    North America
    Hi Vega!

    Does your ISP offer free internet security? Try contacting them and they might send a technician to your residence to fix the problem.

    We have Shaw internet in this part of N. America, and once you subscribe to them, internet security comes with the package and they would send somebody (no charge) should something happen to your internet connection.
     

  3. New_comer

    New_comer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    1,153
    0
    Location:
    Manila, Philippines
    I currently use Yahoo's Anti-spy that comes along with their Toolbar and pop-up blocker. Then subscribed to the free AVG personal anti virus program as my main PC protection. I got rid of the licensed PCCillin 2002 that came with my motherboard. Too tediuos to update...

    No problems whatsoever after 3 months in my current configuration.

    Hope you squash your virus problem... :cool:
     
  4. vega

    vega
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    2,799
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    I have no idea. I bought this comp last October and right now I am using free AOL account for 6 mos.

    vega
     
  5. casmot

    casmot
    Expand Collapse
    Re membered

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    594
    0
    Location:
    Metro Manila, Philippines
    I just use Grisoft free AVG antivirus. Just update regularly and it works.
     
  6. vega

    vega
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    2,799
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    But how do you remove that pesky alert window that keeps popping up?
    Norton Antivirus
    Virus Alert
    X High Risk
    Bla-bla-bla

    vega
     
  7. isuzu

    isuzu
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    4,072
    0
    Location:
    North America
    I think it's AOL's feature. My brothers use Comcast for their internet in the States. You may want to inquire if they have security features available for free for as long as you subscribe to them.
     
  8. horge

    horge
    Expand Collapse
    -=-=-=-=-
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    3,044
    19
    Location:
    almost home
  9. Mang Danny

    Mang Danny
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    470
    0
    Have you tried Lavasoft's AdAware? Might work.

    Did your computer came with a recovery disc? If so, you can use it to restore to factory configuration, you would lose all your data but it's like having a new computer.
     
  10. vega

    vega
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    2,799
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    horge - Thanks for the link.
    Danny - I have a recovery disc but I'll try horge's link first. That's the culprit which is in my system.

    vega
     
  11. toxic

    toxic
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    1,491
    0
    Location:
    doin' time
    If im not mistaken Sir, That pop up alert contains the virus itself, dont press cancel or scan ..just click X ..ok din po yung Mc affe anti virus may daily updates and its free. You can also try Mang dannys Lavasoft Adware SE may free updates din.
     
  12. atmarcella

    atmarcella
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    3,760
    1
    Location:
    overwatch....
    vega,
    i'm just curious...how did you get it? did you open a file or something w/c contained the virus? thanks;)
     
  13. vega

    vega
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    2,799
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    I used fix.vundo but the window keeps popping up. I ran it (fix.vundo)again but the system tells me that it's gone. If I use Norton scanner, it will detect it but it cannot remove it.

    The pop alert comes from Norton, there is no X to click nor button to scan.

    That pop-up started when I download our creative disc webcam. The only websites I go to are:

    Glock talk
    Calguns
    HS2000 XD
    Firearms manufacturers

    My kids go to friendster a lot.

    I also checked if they downloaded music from other sites
    but negative.

    I do get a lot of emails (spams) but I just delete it.
    I called Dell Service support but they want me to pay $99 to fix it.

    vega
     
  14. New_comer

    New_comer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    1,153
    0
    Location:
    Manila, Philippines
    Here's what I'd do:

    - back up all important files, burn on DVD or CDrom
    - Download the free AVG software from grisoft.
    - uninstall your Norton anti virus.
    - Using regedit, delete all registry entries that has anything to do with Mcaffee/Norton
    - Using DOS or safe mode, delete the quarantined file or nay suspicious files you may have.
    - reboot, then install the AVG file.
    - Run the cleaning facility through all its paces.
    - get online and visit the grisoft website.
    - right-click on the AVG icon at Toolbar to update with latest files.

    the PC's now protected. :cool:

    If something goes wrong, a blue screen or total crash perhaps, send unit to computer shop. Tell them you did nothing special. ;)

    Worse case, they may have to reformat the drive. ;P
     
  15. Vault Keeper

    Vault Keeper
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    566
    0
    Location:
    The Vault
    HARANG NAMAN YAN!;P That would translate to about Php5k+! Wow, I guess its better to buy or subscribe to an anti virus software who regularly gives update!

    Hope you get things fixed...
     
  16. apoy

    apoy
    Expand Collapse
    1337

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    100
    0
    Location:
    Beijing
    Before doing anything else try Trend Micro online scan. Use IE. You can use Firefox if you have a place holder. Online scanners are, at times more reliable than subscriptions because they tend to get the updated definitions first.

    Anyway, if Trend Micro did not get anything. Un-install your Norton. The fact that it can detect and not eliminate is a total waste of disk space.

    link: http://housecall60.trendmicro.com/en/start_corp.asp?id=scan

    If you dowloaded AVG and made a full scan (even in safe mode) and still come up with nothing. Go Kaspersky.

    If you decide to get another AV solution, be sure that you are only running one anti-virus program.
     
  17. batangueno

    batangueno
    Expand Collapse
    Shock Resist

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    4,804
    0
    Location:
    California
    Sayang vega nasa US ka. Dito, you can just call homogenizer and tell him to come over to your house. ;f
     
  18. vega

    vega
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    2,799
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    Paano ba ilagay sa safe mode and Windows XP. Iba yung icon, I also printed HELP pero iba yung command.

    vega
     
  19. New_comer

    New_comer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    1,153
    0
    Location:
    Manila, Philippines
    Press F8 while the PC is booting up
     
  20. mc_oliver

    mc_oliver
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    3,499
    0
    Location:
    Philippines
    While holding a hammer in your right hand, press the power button....;f

    Seriously, just hit F8 after the CMOS boot info disappears but before the Windows loading appears.

    Personally, I prefer the hammer, though. ;f