close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Computer randomly shuts down.

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by PicardMD, May 30, 2010.


  1. PicardMD

    PicardMD
    Expand Collapse
    Make It So!!

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    1,800
    451
    Location:
    Star Fleet Medical...
    I am not very computer savy, so please reply in English :supergrin:

    My desktop has been randomly shutting itself down after a few minutes. This just started yesterday. It completely powers down randomly. I am able to re-start the computer, but it randomly shuts down after a few minutes.
    Both fan works. Inside the box is very clean. It's cool to touch. So I don' t think it's overheating.

    It's a few month old HP desktop.
    Intel Core 2 Quad
    Windows 7 Home premium.
    DSL through one of the Bells.

    Event viewer has lots of "information" category stuff.
    The best I can correlate is a Warning -
    Event ID 4001. WLAN auto-config has successfully terminated.

    It's getting pretty annoying.
    No, I am not typing on the desktop as it has not allowed me much time to work before it shuts itself down.

    Thanks
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. seanmac45

    seanmac45
    Expand Collapse
    CLM
    1. The Outpost Lounge

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2000
    6,356
    3,187
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Have you tried starting it in safe mode? I think you have to hit F8 as it is booting.

    Perhaps there is a driver conflict.

    Also, it sounds as though you would still be under warranty for tech support through the manufacturer.
     

    #2 seanmac45, May 30, 2010
    Last edited: May 30, 2010
  3. doublestack9

    doublestack9
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    50
    0
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Two things to check: First, make sure that the fan on the CPU is working. If the CPU is getting hot it will shut down. Second, the power supply could be failing. If it's not the CPU fan, then I would replace the power supply.
     
  4. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,685
    976
    Location:
    Indiana
    Take the side off of the PC(probably takes a screw driver or maybe even has some lever or thumb screw). Turn the PC on, and watch the fan that is in the middle of the motherboard.. you'll probably see it is not coming on, and the PC is shutting off to protect from ruining the CPU.

    Shutdowns due to a bad power supply are also common, but far more erratic. Sometimes 5min, sometimes an hour, sometimes 2hrs.

    The fact it is happening after a few minutes, makes me suspect you have a bad CPU fan. Very unlikely it's a driver conflict.

    IGF
     
  5. PicardMD

    PicardMD
    Expand Collapse
    Make It So!!

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    1,800
    451
    Location:
    Star Fleet Medical...
    Thanks for all the replies.

    I'm getting ready to call manufactures tech support.

    All 3 visible fans are working (power supply fan on top, case fan at the bottom, processor/CPU fan on the side). The entire unit is cool to touch.

    Computer still shuts down at random.
    Sometimes just a few minutes after start up.
    Sometimes longer.
    This time it's been on for the past few hours.
    We will see.
     
    #5 PicardMD, May 30, 2010
    Last edited: May 30, 2010
  6. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,685
    976
    Location:
    Indiana
    Hmm... That sure sounds like a heat issue.. just because it's cool to the touch, doesn't mean it's not getting hot.
     
  7. X-ray 4N6

    X-ray 4N6
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    503
    43
    Location:
    London (ex SA)
  8. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,685
    976
    Location:
    Indiana
  9. PicardMD

    PicardMD
    Expand Collapse
    Make It So!!

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    1,800
    451
    Location:
    Star Fleet Medical...
    Yep, way over my head. :supergrin:
    I'll have a better chance reading an astrophysic textbook in Klingon.

    Was put on hold for an hour calling tech support, so I hung up.
    Computer is staying up longer now... several hours at a time. The latest being for the past 10 hours.
    We will see.
    I'm gonna call tech support again in the next few days when I have more time to spend waiting on the phone.
     
  10. Ralff

    Ralff
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    1,286
    2
    Location:
    Central FL
    Is it shutting down as in you get the "Windows is shutting down ..." screen or is it just POOF the computer turns off like you pulled the plug?
     
  11. gdvan01

    gdvan01
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    249
    0
    Location:
    Home of the first First Lady
    Hard drive starting to go T.U.?
    Do you have any USB peripherals plugged in? My PC goes bat***** some times when I have USB stuff plugged in when it's booting. After it boots and everything loads all is fine.
     
  12. PicardMD

    PicardMD
    Expand Collapse
    Make It So!!

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    1,800
    451
    Location:
    Star Fleet Medical...
    Yes, I get the "window is shutting down" warning and it appears to go through a normal shut down procedure -- meaning that when I turn it back on, it boots "normally" as if I had turned off the computer properly. Now I am using the word "normally" very loosely since I can't tell if it does indeed do that. But it's not slow, not "stalling" or anything.

    And no, I am not given a choice to abort the "windowis shutting down."
     
  13. ArmyCop

    ArmyCop
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    260
    0
    Location:
    Saraland, AL USA
    Mine's has been doing that. We took it to the shop and they found lots of dust & stuff clogging the system so it wouldn't cool anymore - overhead and shut down.

    Something simple like that can be your problem.

    Take cover off - use a can of air and blow it out clean - try it again and see if okay. Might save you some $$$
     
  14. PicardMD

    PicardMD
    Expand Collapse
    Make It So!!

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    1,800
    451
    Location:
    Star Fleet Medical...
    OK, I am ready to shoot the desktop now.
    BTW, it's an HP Pavillion.

    Called HP tech support
    Went through start up diagnostics - OK
    Opened the side panel and check all the fans and make sure the inside is squeaky clean -- OK
    Unplugged all the RAM cards and reinstalled them -- OK
    Unplugged everything to "discharge static electricity" -- OK

    Didn't work.

    So we settled for a fresh systems recovery -- basically reset the computer entirely to the factory initial setting. Yeah. That was fun.

    So, after the repeat set up, I got as far as re-installing the Mcafee antivirus software and re-installing adobe reader...

    And it's happening again... RANDOM SHUT DOWN AGAIN.

    Could this be some sort of HP hardware problem now?
     
  15. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,685
    976
    Location:
    Indiana
    OK.. so it's obviously not a driver/software issue.

    If you're certain all of your fans are operating properly.. I'm going to lean towards bad Power supply, bad RAM, bad CPU... in that order.


    I had a wire work loose on a connector on a power supply one time, and it was doing random shutdowns like you describe.. ended up replacing the power supply and all was fine.

    IGF
     
  16. PicardMD

    PicardMD
    Expand Collapse
    Make It So!!

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    1,800
    451
    Location:
    Star Fleet Medical...
    Thanks.

    I'm calling HP tech support tomorrow morning again to mock around further with the power supply, RAM, and CPU. I suspect I am going to need to send the darn thing back to HP...

    I found out that if I call during regular daytime hours, I get someone who sounds American (easier to understand). Afterhours, it gets routed to India and I the conversation takes much longer...

    BTW, system recovery did not go very smoothly either. Had to do it three times. The first time the computer initialized into a window's recovery error screen and loops into a perpetual startup cycle. The second time we got a bit further, and the keyboard wouldn't work for me to type in the initial user name set up (not a keyboard problem), and the third time was the charm and booted into the factory initial setup and recognized the keyboard.

    I'm close to shooting the darn thing... but Sean Connery's voice keeps popping into my head, "Most things in here don't react too well to bullets." :supergrin: :whistling:
     
    #16 PicardMD, Jun 5, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2010
  17. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,685
    976
    Location:
    Indiana
    They're probably not going to talk you through removing the CPU or power supply... Ram.. maybe.

    I'm guessing you will have to send it back in unfortunately.

    IGF
     
  18. PicardMD

    PicardMD
    Expand Collapse
    Make It So!!

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    1,800
    451
    Location:
    Star Fleet Medical...
    They've already talked me through removing and re-installing the RAM cards... didn't work.

    Hope their customer service is like Smith and Wesson -- free return label and all... we will see.
     
  19. PicardMD

    PicardMD
    Expand Collapse
    Make It So!!

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    1,800
    451
    Location:
    Star Fleet Medical...
    Update:

    Thank you all for all the replies and suggestions.

    I spent hours on the phone with HP Tech Support, taking apart the computer repeatedly ran diagnostics... and nothing fruitful came about.

    Then, I did one simple thing -- I changed the keyboard (because the keyboard got stuck a few times during this process).

    And Viola, problem solved. The computer has stayed on for the past 2 days now. No more random shut down. I guess the keyboard was sending shutdown command randomly.
     
  20. kc8ykd

    kc8ykd
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    2,090
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    honestly, that's far past the last thing i would have considered to have been causing the problem. it makes sense tho, a short somewhere in the keyboard, say for the numlock light, jumping into the path for the shutdown button, or something similar.

    glad you got it sorted out,