Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Welcome to Glock Forum at

Why should YOU join our forums?

• Connect with other Glock Enthusiasts
  • Read up on the latest product reviews
  • Make new friends to go shooting with!
  • Becoming a member is FREE and EASY

Glock Talk is the #1 site to discuss the world’s most popular pistol, chat about firearms, accessories and more.

competition electronics prochrono

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by themighty9mm, Sep 18, 2012.

1. themighty9mm

Sep 19, 2008
    Based on reviews I ordered one of these. Found it was slightly cheaper on ebay than the deal on midway, all things considered tax and shipping. Paid $105 for it shipped.

I have never used a chrono before, but have always wondered what my loads are doing exactly. Also I'm getting more involved with rifle loading as of late and thought it to be a good idea to go aheads and get one.

So what all do I need to know about this thing? anything else I need to get for it? What distance should I be shooting at with it? how much of a concern is lighting? I will be mostly using it at an outdoor range but on occasion indoors. Did I do ok for my first chronograph? Anything else I should know?
  2. Well, when you receive it... RTFM. :embarassed:
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2012

3. sourdough44

Jul 23, 2007
    I've had that chrony for several years. I've shot a bunch with it & even get readings with a pellet gun. The 1st order is to make sure you know where your gun is shooting & shoot the bullet in the center of the uprights. Don't shoot the chrony. You may want to protect the front LED if shooting ammo with a sabot or wad, M-L or shotgun slugs.

I bought a cheap camera tripod to hold it up while shooting. The only time I knew I had bad readings were on a bright sunny day. I like 'filtered sunlight' the best.
  4. Jim Watson

Jim Watson

Jul 10, 2001