close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Comcast Constant Guard

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by rfrf, Jul 5, 2011.


  1. rfrf

    rfrf
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    101
    0
    What feedback does anyone have comparing Comcast Constant Guard to Comcast Norton Security Suite. Constant Guard seems to offer the same security as Norton Security Suite with Identity Safe. I appreciate your input.

    Thanks,

    rfrf
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Pierre!

    Pierre!
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    3,951
    136
    Location:
    Lovin Sparks Nv!
    What OS run on this network? Just one Windows 7? or more computers with mixed versions?
     

  3. rfrf

    rfrf
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    101
    0
    I am running XP and Windows 7.
     
  4. Pierre!

    Pierre!
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    3,951
    136
    Location:
    Lovin Sparks Nv!
    Cox Cable has a package that I can use...

    But as a home based business, I use Microsoft Security Essentials... and I recommend it highly. It's caught alot of bugs, and Win 7 has stopped many many viruses via the UAC (User Access Control)

    I also have Avast! home edition running on some of my non-business (Lab) computers. Works well also, and has a cool 'sandbox' feature. When Avast! doesn't know the software, it puts it in a sandbox which can un-do things that you didn't intend to install.

    Those are my recommendations for Virus.

    For Malware I just run MalwareBytes from MalwareBytes.org when I suspect something might have slipped in, or during regular maintenance (2 to 3 times a month).

    Suites have a habit of *nagging* users who then turn off the alerts! Then, the alerts are never seen... and I get called out to a massively infected computer that really just needs to be 'Nuked From Space' and then re-installed.

    But all of this is in my free eBook if you care to check it out... it's in my sig line...

    Hope that gets you off to a good start!
    Patrick
     
  5. solomansousana

    solomansousana
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    1,522
    0
    Location:
    Hampton, Virginia
    Yes, I too use Cox cable and they provide you with free McAfee security suite, as does my bank since I use online banking. I however use both a watchguard firebox, a hardware firewall along with an alpha shield and NIS 2011.
     
  6. Pierre!

    Pierre!
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    3,951
    136
    Location:
    Lovin Sparks Nv!
    I used to be a big McAfee fan boy... and they recently started posting decent scores Here: AVTest.org

    So... now you know where you can go to see how your AV selection stacks up!

    Hope that helps...

    Patrick