close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Combining wireless and ethernet networks possible?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Joe Plumber, Nov 14, 2008.


  1. Joe Plumber

    Joe Plumber
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    6
    0
    Location:
    Nowhere
    I've got my desktops on an ethernet network, and am buying a laptop for my daughter. I don't want to convert the desktops to wireless, but was wondering if I can tie a wireless router into my cable router for just the laptop. I want her to be able to share files and access the internet.

    Worst case, I'll add a few ethernet points around the house, but I'd rather give her the option to take it anywhere in the house and not trip over a cable, if it's possible.

    Thanks in advance!
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Blitzer

    Blitzer
    Expand Collapse
    Cool Cat

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    12,111
    0
    Location:
    The communist's play ground of OHIO
    Either add a wireless router or get a trade-in WiFi/Ethernet cable MODEM to replace your old cable MODEM.
     

  3. bhoth

    bhoth
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    5
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    Hi Joe, yes, you can add wireless to your exhisting wired network as long as you already have a wired router. Since you used the word desktops, to me indicates you already have more than one desktop so I am assuming you have a router already.

    You can buy a less expensive wireless router like the Netgear WGR614 or Linksys WRT54G. You assign either of this a static IP higher than the DHCP range of your wired router. You disable DHCP on this wireless router, then you plug the wireless router in via a LAN port to the wired router and you are set.

    Make sure you turn on WPA for encryption for wireless connectivity.
     
  4. Big Al 24

    Big Al 24
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    1,244
    0
    I have a setup like this. I would recommend the WRT54G as an access point to add to your wired network. I would also recommend WPA2 as the most solid security out at this point.
     
  5. Unregistered

    Unregistered
    Expand Collapse
    Senoir member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    512
    12
    Location:
    Lakewood, WA
    If you get a wrt54g, re-flash it to the dd-wrt open source firmware. It's vastly more stable and gives the unit the abilities of a low-end soho Cisco router.
     
  6. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,696
    982
    Location:
    Indiana
    For the average user though, thats overkill(not to mention probably more complex than most would like). I've had a WRT54G for a while, with no issues at all. The software makes setting up your network and adding devices very easy.

    Just follow basic wireless security precautions
    1. Make sure you change the default password to log in to the router to something random, so some enterprising youngster in your neighborhood can't log in to your router and wreak havoc.

    2. Use WPA/WPA2, with a good, strong(at least 30 characters), random password.

    IGF
     
  7. Dandapani

    Dandapani
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    8,213
    4
    Location:
    Gulf side Florida
    Like the poster above, I use my Netgear WGR614 wireless router/firewall in access point mode. It plugs into one of the ports of my Linksys wired router/firewall network.
     
  8. Big Al 24

    Big Al 24
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    1,244
    0
    I don't need the extra functionality yet because I rarely use the thing and it stays unplugged most of the time. In my household there are only a few wireless devices and I usually don't need it on and waiting.
     
  9. DustyJacket

    DustyJacket
    Expand Collapse
    Directiv 10-289

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    6,465
    115
    Location:
    Missouri, East of KC
    I use a WRT55AG - wireless with 4 Ethernet ports.
     
  10. Kevin108

    Kevin108
    Expand Collapse
    HADOKEN!
    1. Glock Talk's Drunk Squad

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    6,610
    704
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Almost all wireless routers still have wired ports on the back. The two I've purchased both had 4 wired ports. Look for terms on the box like "4-port 10/100 switch".
     
    #10 Kevin108, Nov 22, 2008
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2008
  11. theleafybug

    theleafybug
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    332
    0
    Location:
    CA
    no need to add wireless to your current wired router. takes too much setup. and its going to cost almost the same as a new router. just swap out your wired router for a wireless router. done. (like somebody said, a wireless router will also have like 4 ethernet ports in the back so don't worry)
     
  12. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,696
    982
    Location:
    Indiana
    Thats what I would do, I've never done it, but I bet getting to routers to talk to each other could be problematic... Just get a good wireless router, w/ WPA and WPA2 support, and I don't think you'll have any issues at all..

    I really like Linksys products, the software on their routers is very easy to set up. I personally use a WRT54G, and have never had a problem....

    Look at computer suppliers, like Tigerdirect.com, Newegg.com, etc, and look for wireless routers and read the reviews, etc.

    IGF
     
  13. Kevin108

    Kevin108
    Expand Collapse
    HADOKEN!
    1. Glock Talk's Drunk Squad

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    6,610
    704
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    And depending on what kind of range you need, basic 802.11 b/g wireless routers with 4 10/100 ports start around $35 so you're not looking at a huge purchase.