close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Close Fitting OWB vs IWB Carry?

Discussion in 'General Firearms Forum' started by Restless28, Aug 25, 2012.

1. Restless28

Restless28
    Expand Collapse

I love my Walther PPS. I have carried it in a Desantis IWB leather holster, but I'm still not comfortable sitting. With fall coming, I'm thinking that a close fitting OWB holster may be an option.

Got any suggestions?

Do you prefer OWB to IWB?

Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. ak103k

ak103k
    Expand Collapse

I prefer the IWB, as its the most concealable, and for me, the most comfortable.

OWB is OK, I just diont find it as stable, and you have to watch how you move to keep it out of sight.

3. FFR Spyder GT

FFR Spyder GT
    Expand Collapse
    Ex-Gunslinger

OWB

I cannot imagine why anyone would IWB carry.

I've been carrying for over 30 years and have tried every way possible and still end up OWB.

Go to a LGS that has a decent selection of holsters and try them on until you find the one that you like.

For myself it was an easy choice....... Glock pistol = Glock holster.

I even use the larger holster for my Taurus PT845.

4. Bren

Bren
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Life Member

I prefer OWB holsters. I usually use 518 series paddle holsters for Glock, Walther PPK, etc. or a Blade Tech kydex.

OWB is much much more comfortable, so I only use IWB if I really need it to conceal.

In summer I prefer a Safariland 518 with a Hawaiian shirt over it. The big bright pattern of the shirt also helps concealment, by fooling the eye so the outline of the gun isn't noticeable. It's much easier to conceal udner a patterned shirt than a solid color and it also makes you not look like a ninja who is probably carrying a gun, like safari and hunring style shirts do.

#4 Bren, Aug 25, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2012
  5. Restless28

Restless28
    Expand Collapse