Glock Talk banner

Choosing a reel

1K views 7 replies 4 participants last post by  noway 
#1 ·
I need some help in choosing a reel for the ugly stik spinning rod I purchased. I am completely new to fishing, so bear with me. I purchased the 6' long medium action model, that handles 6-15 pound line. I was at Wal Mart earlier day, and noticed they had several reels on clearance. I wrote them all down, and here is what they have.

Daiwa Regal Z2500C was 49.94 now 30.00
Shimano Spirex 2000FD was 55.96 now 35.00
Quantum Icon ic20 was 49.96 now 30.00
Shimano Solstace 2000RG was 49.96 now 19.00
Abu Garcia Cardinal C602 was 48.88 now 30.00
Shimano Symetre SY2500FI was 79.93 now 30.00

They also had a Rapala real that was now on clearance, but thought I would mention it anyway. It was the model with 4 ball bearings and was 37.00. Any recommendations? Any to avoid? Any that would not work for me? If none of these are good, I will just look elsewhere.

#3 ·
All of them are good. Me personally ( off your list ) I would go with the icon since I have one on a rod that 6ft and it cast quite beautiful. Also if you don't mind a rear drag, lookat the shimano sedona. This is a good reel and can be had for 35-45 dollars. But any of the above you listed should be find for the setup you mention.

#4 ·
Originally posted by Timothy658
Daiwa Regal Z2500C was 49.94 now 30.00
Can't tell you much except Diawa makes good products.
Shimano Spirex 2000FD was 55.96 now 35.00
Real good reel I am a huge Shimano fan.
Quantum Icon ic20 was 49.96 now 30.00
Same as Diawa but I am not a Quantum fan.
Shimano Solstace 2000RG was 49.96 now 19.00
Awesome...personally I would get this one. I am not in the market but if I was this at my local Wally World I would pick it up.
Abu Garcia Cardinal C602 was 48.88 now 30.00
Not a bad reel but I have never personally used one.
Shimano Symetre SY2500FI was 79.93 now 30.00