close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

CHL Instructor Question

Discussion in 'Lone Star Glockers' started by TattooedGlock, May 23, 2007.


  1. TattooedGlock

    TattooedGlock
    Expand Collapse
    NRA LIFE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    1,118
    0
    Location:
    South Texas
    I've been in law enforcement for many years and I've been an avid shooter for just as many. I'm considering applying to be a CHL instructor and I'm just wondering how long, difficult, expensive, etc., the process is? Thanks!
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. cwood

    cwood
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    382
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    FYI, all intructor certifications expire at the end of even numbered years, and the renewals are in the last half of those years. This is so that the renewal applicants will get the new information from the latest legislative session. As you probably know Texas legislature meets every other year. There will be lots of new content this year.

    Therefore, if you have an original application for an instructor's certificate in an odd numbered year, it will only be good for about one year, and it is essentially half price. Then the next year you will take the regular renewal with everyone else to get the latest, most up to date legal info.

    The cost of the training which is only done by DPS in the Austin Area is $100 (original or renewal) for a two year certificate. The training for an original certificate lasts about 4 days and includes a trip to the DPS range northwest of Georgetown. Most of that is classroom time where you study what you will teach and more. I found it to be well presented by DPS staff. Long days but pretty good overall. They make several classes during the latter portion of the year and you pick the one you want on a space available basis.

    The renewal classes take about a day less +/-.

    There is a written exam at the end which is not much harder than the CHL exam. If you pass that(you will) you go to the handgun qualification. Here you shoot the standard CHL qualification except that you must do it with a revolver AND a semi-automatic and you must score 90% on each, rather than the 75% required on the CHL exam. When you pass everything, you are issued your certificate immediately.

    The course provides some good hints on the instruction process and you get a packet of forms you will need and they are described in the class.

    You can apply online.

    I hope this helps answer some of your questions.
     

  3. mesteve2

    mesteve2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2001
    2,645
    1
    Location:
    USA
    If you want to make money.

    Just do cop jobs at $30.00 per hour.

    As an instructor most make a lot less.

    Spend more time and money getting set up than it is worth.

    My last course I had 15 signed up and 3 showed up.

    Range is $7.00 per student targets are $3.00 state fee is $5.00 the

    total is $15.00 plus room rent staples gas and supplies.

    So I taught 3 students and spent 12 hours and lost money.

    A lot of instructors do not last long.

    If you truely beleive all should be able to carry a gun then you

    might want to be an instructor other-wise.

    good luck

    steve
     
  4. bluelineman

    bluelineman
    Expand Collapse
    Infidel كافر

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    5,034
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I bet if you have them pre-pay ("due to the increased amount of no-show students...") your no-show rate will be 0%.
     
  5. mesteve2

    mesteve2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2001
    2,645
    1
    Location:
    USA
    I can not keep someones money if I do not do the job for them.

    Nice Idea.

    I did it once then I just gave their money back.

    Not going to be rich.

    I do not teach the CHL for the money.

    If I did I would do something else for money.

    thanks

    steve
     
  6. bluelineman

    bluelineman
    Expand Collapse
    Infidel كافر

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    5,034
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Good point. What would I know? I'm not a CHL Instructor. Maybe a deposit would be a better idea?
     
  7. mesteve2

    mesteve2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2001
    2,645
    1
    Location:
    USA
    I have done the money first and I just can not keep their money if I do not teach the course.

    It is just not a good way to make money.

    I just want to get more people to CHL firearms for self-defence.

    The Police could and do not get there fast enough to be of any help.

    People must protect themselves or die!

    thanks

    steve
     
  8. SJRTX

    SJRTX
    Expand Collapse
    Plastic Lover

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    204
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    I would definitely take a non-refundable deposit at least for the cost out of your pocket if they are a no-show. Its not fair for you to lose money.

    Jim Pruetts where I took mine, requires you prepay for the class (if i recall correctly). I do know that every seat in that room was full when i took it.