close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Changing calibers-maybe

Discussion in 'GSSF' started by Fisherman, May 4, 2012.

1. Fisherman

Fisherman

Thinking of expanding my barely average GSSF shooting skills. I'm still a newbie to this but am loving the sport the places and the people. I'm finding, though, that with my relatively small hands, I might be more comfortable with a smaller frame. (Currently shooting a 19) I'm giving some thought to moving over to a 36 but given that it's a serious expense I'm going to think it over for a while before doing anything. Anyone else made this move? Any thoughts?

Last edited: May 4, 2012
  2. Don At PC

Don At PC Senior Member Millennium Member

If you only want to shoot Major Sub then the 36 is a good choice. There are no 10 or 10+ round mags for it so Majsub is all you could shoot. The G26 has 10 round capability and is legal in all but the Heavy Metal and Major Sub. Check out the Match Registration Form, it lists all Guns that are legal for each category. www.gssfonline.com has a wealth of info available.

Don

3. Melissa5

Melissa5

I shot my G36 at a GSSF match for the first time last weekend and really enjoyed it. Problem is that those plates are very unforgiving especially with only 7 rounds. I left 9 plates standing. :embarassed: My fault...not the guns fault.

If you look around, you can find a good used G36 and not break the bank.

Good luck and good shooting!

4. DannyR

DannyR Moderator Millennium Member

I suggest a Gen4 G19.:wavey:

5. 9mmdude

9mmdude

If you are currently shooting a Gen3 19 then a Gen4 19 might be a little smaller for your hand.

The Glock 36 will only allow you to participate in one category.

Danny R said it best, if your 19 is a Gen4 stick with it. If it is a Gen3 practice and if it doesn't work out look at the Gen4.

My best scores have been with a Glock 19RTF2.

6. DannyR

DannyR Moderator Millennium Member

I have used the following pistols in GSSF competition: