close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Welcome to Glock Talk

Why should YOU join our Glock forum?

• Converse with other Glock Enthusiasts
  • Learn about the latest hunting products
  • Becoming a member is FREE and EASY

If you consider yourself a beginner or an avid shooter, the Glock Talk community is your place to discuss self defense, concealed carry, reloading, target shooting, and all things Glock.

Certain casings more desirable for reloading than others?

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by DEE50, Oct 27, 2013.

1. DEE50

DEE50

Oct 21, 2010
    Hello gentlemen,

I am still fairly new to reloading and I appreciate you guys' wealth of knowledge. I am wondering if certain casings are more desirable than others for reloading? I'm thinking mostly of 357/38, .380, 45 ACP, 50 AE, .308 Win.
    As I understand it there can be rare cases of casing specific weaknesses, and also nickle casings tend to not last as long without cracking and are more prone to getting stuck during the re-sizing process, correct?

Also, the rare berdan primed is pretty much non-reloadable whereas boxer is?

Last edited: Oct 27, 2013
  2. stevelyn

stevelyn NRA Life Member

I'm not a wealth of knowledge. Opinions OTOH........

Like anything else a lot depends on personal experience and preferences. I personally like Starline brass for handgun and straight-wall rifle cases such as the .45-70, especially if the loads are going to be on the warm side.

For working bottle-neck rifle loads I like Norma, Federal or Winchester. For load development and practice I normally use Remington since it's cheap and plentiful in most calibers.