close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Welcome to Glock Talk

Why should YOU join our Glock forum?

• Converse with other Glock Enthusiasts
  • Learn about the latest hunting products
  • Becoming a member is FREE and EASY

If you consider yourself a beginner or an avid shooter, the Glock Talk community is your place to discuss self defense, concealed carry, reloading, target shooting, and all things Glock.

Casting question.

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by Reagan40, Oct 29, 2010.

1. Reagan40

Reagan40

May 6, 2007
    Indiana
    I tried the search feature without any luck. I am sure this has been asked before, but I am thinking about starting to cast my own bullets. I have been reloading successfully for a couple of years. First, I would want to start casting for my S&W.357 magnum revolver. I am sure it would be fine. Then I thought about casting .45acp and 9mm since that is what I shoot the most. The problem is I just have this fear that shooting lead bullets out of my HK USP .45 and my S&W M&P 9 will hurt the guns. Is this fear justified? Should I worry about using cast lead bullets with an auto loader?

2. GioaJack

GioaJack Conifer Jack

Apr 14, 2009
    Conifer, CO
    The only concern with shooting lead, (given reasonable velocity limitations) is the Glock OEM barrel controversy.

In truth God invented lead specifically to be formed into bullets and shot out of guns... all other uses are simply byproducts of it's intended use.

Get a copy of Lyman's book on casting, it will answer a great majority of your questions... and start scrounging wheel weights. Good luck.

Jack

3. Reagan40

Reagan40

May 6, 2007
    Indiana
    Thanks Jack. I will get the Lyman book and begin studying. The next question is, should I really add one more time consuming activity to this hobby? My wife is going to dump hot lead on me when she realizes that I will be spending more time on the shooting hobby.:supergrin:

4. GioaJack