close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Can't stay connected

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by ClydeG19, Jul 23, 2008.


  1. ClydeG19

    ClydeG19
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    5,182
    899
    Location:
    Arizona
    When I'm plugged into a hardline...there's no issue. When I unplug and go wireless, I can't stay connected to programs like Aim, dl's stall halfway through, etc. What gives? Speedtest.com says my speed is the same either way.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. denfoote

    denfoote
    Expand Collapse
    MENACE

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2000
    1,055
    0
    Location:
    Buckeye Arizona
    Have you formatted your router??
    Remember, you have to tell your router where to find your machine.
    There should be a number on the router which is the address that you have to put into the computer.
    If you are on windows, there should be a wireless connection wizard.
    It's menu driven. Just bring it up and follow the directions. :cool:
     

  3. ClydeG19

    ClydeG19
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    5,182
    899
    Location:
    Arizona
    I can surf the net just fine...pics load halfway sometimes though.
     
  4. Luckysteve

    Luckysteve
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    273
    0
    I had this same issue before and it actually came to me in a dream. I had just bought a new router which was capable of broadcasting 802.11b, 802.11g and 802.11n. I had it set to broadcast "mixed" since that was the default factory setting. My laptop did not have an 802.11n card so every time it would switch to the N protocol it would drop the connection.
     
  5. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,685
    975
    Location:
    Indiana
    Weird, I have a B/G/N router, and have it set to mixed, and no probs at all w/ a dropped connection(My device is not N capable either...)

    IGF
     
  6. Luckysteve

    Luckysteve
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    273
    0
    Mine was on 2 laptops and it was my linksys router. Also my PSP freaks out on anything but B.