Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Welcome to Glock Forum at

Why should YOU join our forums?

• Connect with other Glock Enthusiasts
  • Read up on the latest product reviews
  • Make new friends to go shooting with!
  • Becoming a member is FREE and EASY

Glock Talk is the #1 site to discuss the world’s most popular pistol, chat about firearms, accessories and more.

Can't shoot my 642

Discussion in 'The Snubbie Club' started by benji, Dec 27, 2011.

1. benji

Sep 23, 2003
    I'm no pro with any of my guns but my 642 makes me look even worse. It seems like when I take a good grip and point the gun that it is pointing way higher than with any of my Glocks or other pistols I've shot. Is there something that I'm doing wrong or is the grip angle just that much different? I'm considering getting a LCP or something else that points better naturally for me than this 642. The bad angle plus the super heavy trigger makes me terrible with this gun...
  2. Leigh

May 22, 2000
    Eastern Kentucky
    Welcome to "Snubbies 101" and it's probably not "you."

Short sight radius and near non-existent sights on most, lightweight frame on many, 12+ pound DA on some, and reduced gripping surface on a lot. Need I say more?

The very few folks I know who have truly "mastered" the little 5-shot, 2 inch 38/357 revolver have put many, many hours of practice and training into them. There are no shortcuts.

Funny how many armchair idiots over the years have recommended them to women based solely on their size/weight.
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2011

3. benji

Sep 23, 2003
    "Idiots" might not be a strong enough word. My 642 is a beast to shoot I can't imagine my wife ever enjoying it.
  4. Leigh

May 22, 2000
    Eastern Kentucky
    I've carried a an Airweight Bodyguard (model 638 in .38 Special) for 10+ years and I am happy with consistent "minute of grapfruit" groups at 21 feet.