close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Can CAT5E cable be spliced?

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by HollowHead, Oct 18, 2012.

  1. HollowHead

    HollowHead Firm member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    24,616
    Likes Received:
    2,306
    Location:
    Where the buffalo roam
    Can you splice CAT5E cable? I accidentally cut the line between the house and the workshop so can I just solder/heatshrink the wires back together or do I need to run a completely new line? Thanks, HH
     
  2. fgutie35

    fgutie35

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,906
    Likes Received:
    282
    Location:
    deep southeast Texas
    You can, but you have to not just solder but insulate very well as to not loose signal strength. What you cannot do, is split it to feed to devices over one cable.
     

  3. Halojumper

    Halojumper

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    6,573
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Aurora, CO
  4. cgwahl

    cgwahl Sheriffs a near

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    6,568
    Likes Received:
    512
    Location:
    CA
  5. HollowHead

    HollowHead Firm member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    24,616
    Likes Received:
    2,306
    Location:
    Where the buffalo roam
    Thanks. I have it back together with wire nuts and wanted to know what to do before burying it again. Yeah, beer and backhoe... HH
     
  6. Halojumper

    Halojumper

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    6,573
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Aurora, CO
    Lol wire nuts! That's funny but I bet it works
     
  7. CitizenOfDreams

    CitizenOfDreams

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    8,111
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    I'm using a Cat5 run that's spliced together with twisted wires and electrical tape. But wire nuts... just wow. :shocked:
     
  8. droidfire

    droidfire

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    3,369
    Likes Received:
    818
    Location:
    All over, United States.
    Crimp two new ends and plug them both into a female/female cat5 piece...
     
  9. HollowHead

    HollowHead Firm member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    24,616
    Likes Received:
    2,306
    Location:
    Where the buffalo roam
    Don't have the tool and I needed this up and running ASAP. HH
     
  10. F350

    F350

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    930
    Location:
    The Wyoming Plains
    It will "work" your way just don't expect 100 meg out of it, most home applications don't exceed 10 meg and that can be done with Cat4. There are VERY specific specs for installation of Cat5 and up, unless these spec were followed your network won't run 100 meg anyhow.
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2012
  11. Dennis in MA

    Dennis in MA Get off my lawn

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    42,700
    Likes Received:
    2,811
    Location:
    Taunton, MA
    Just tie a good square knot and it should work fine.
     
  12. gwalchmai

    gwalchmai Lucky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    24,571
    Likes Received:
    1,235
    Location:
    Outside the perimeter
    Don't forget to wrap it with a bread wrapper if it's going underground.
     
  13. Chesafreak

    Chesafreak

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    I recommend running new cables, but by all means, give splicing a try but don't expect the same data transmission speeds you were getting. The wire pairs were twisted to counteract EMI and untwisting them may affect transfer rates. Also, burying spliced network cables may still allow some moisture into the splices no matter how well you wrap them.

    I suspect you are going to take the easier route and splice and will find out later you need to replace the whole cable run when you see how much slower your network connection will be. I hope that splicing works out well for you.
     
  14. Geko45

    Geko45 Smartass Pilot CLM

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    17,798
    Likes Received:
    1,591
    Location:
    KCXO
    This is true, but the fact that it will be buried pretty much negates that concern. Moist earth makes for excellent EM shielding.

    This would be my primary concern too. Moisture getting through and corroding it out. I'd wrap that splice up tight in several layers of eletrical tape before burying it again.
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2012
  15. HollowHead

    HollowHead Firm member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    24,616
    Likes Received:
    2,306
    Location:
    Where the buffalo roam
    Update: Solder and goo-infused heat shrink did the trick. Thanks, HH
     
  16. kensb2

    kensb2 pistol n00b

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Apache, OK
    I might have opted for capping the ends, and putting an in-line signal booster there. Not sure without a search if they make them to be buried or not, but I'd have to image so. How long is the run from your modem/router out to your shop?
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2012
  17. Geko45

    Geko45 Smartass Pilot CLM

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    17,798
    Likes Received:
    1,591
    Location:
    KCXO
    Oh! Smart thinking!

    :thumbsup:
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2012
  18. Dennis in MA

    Dennis in MA Get off my lawn

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    42,700
    Likes Received:
    2,811
    Location:
    Taunton, MA
    Don't try it. Splicing Cat5 is like trying to splice pig and elephant DNA. :rofl:
     
  19. CitizenOfDreams

    CitizenOfDreams

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    8,111
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    That's the proper way to do it, with one caveat: a lot of those female/female couplers on the market are complete and utter junk. Don't use the "$1.99, free shipping" eBay variety, you will regret it.