close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Welcome to Glock Talk

Why should YOU join our Glock forum?

• Converse with other Glock Enthusiasts
  • Learn about the latest hunting products
  • Becoming a member is FREE and EASY

If you consider yourself a beginner or an avid shooter, the Glock Talk community is your place to discuss self defense, concealed carry, reloading, target shooting, and all things Glock.

Calibers for feral pigs?

Discussion in 'Hunting, Fishing & Camping' started by Arbee, Aug 31, 2002.

1. Arbee

Arbee

May 15, 2000
    DFW - Texas
    What's the minimum round needed to kill a feral pig? I am not asking what will work if you're lucky, because I value life and limb, and am not a great tree climber any more. What's the minumum that's sure to kill if I hit my target?

Thanks,
    Arbee.

2. Well I am no expert by any means, but would start with a minimum of a 30 caliber such as a 308, 30-06. Smaller calibers will work, but keep in mind that it depends on how big the pigs are? Also I like to have a sidearm with me if hunting these animals.

3. eisman

eisman ARGH! CLM

Jul 28, 2002
    Moving Target
    I hunt pigs with a 6.5 using 159 gr Honady bullets. No problems. I have also used a .41 magnum handgun.

4. Mwinter

Mwinter I'm MilkMan Dan

Oct 26, 2001
    Bullet selection is just as important as caliber to me....
    hogs have surprising amounts of gristle plate, muscles, fat and other bullet-slowing layers. Some 'deer' projectiles will sometimes simply fail.
    The Winchester Failsafe (.270 and above), Federal 220gr SP in .30-06, HCL in .45-70/.44Mag, and 12ga slugs (Brenneke) have all performed well for me.
    I've also heard good things about Cor-Bon's Penetrator FMJ sidearm rounds.

5. Beaten

Beaten Brand X

Jul 4, 2001
    Austin, Texas