close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Welcome to Glock Talk

Why should YOU join our Glock forum?

  • Converse with other Glock Enthusiasts
  • Learn about the latest hunting products
  • Becoming a member is FREE and EASY

If you consider yourself a beginner or an avid shooter, the Glock Talk community is your place to discuss self defense, concealed carry, reloading, target shooting, and all things Glock.

Buy a gun in VA without the 30 day wait? (New Resident)

Discussion in 'Glockers of the Old Dominion' started by jasonwc, Jul 13, 2007.

  1. jasonwc

    jasonwc

    31
    0
    Jun 14, 2007
    East Brunswick, NJ
    I'm looking to purchase a NIB Glock 19 and I would like to do so as soon as possible. Purchasing it in NJ is out of the question. I would have to wait a minimum of 30 days (more like 3+ months) and pay over $60 to get a Firearms ID Card and Permit to Purchase a Handgun. I've therefore decided to wait until I move to VA to buy a gun. However, I won't be able to establish residency until July 25th, which is when my lease will start. And I would rather not wait the 30 days required by federal law to purchase a handgun in Virginia from a Federally licensed dealer. So, the question is, what is the best way to go about purchasing a NIB Glock legally in VA without waiting the 30 days?

    First Option- Purchase at a Gun Show

    There's going to be a large gun show on July 27-29 (C&E Gun Shows, The Nation's Gun Show - http://www.cegunshows.com/nations_gun_show.htm) in Chantilly, VA at the Dulles Expo Center which is very close to where I'll be living.

    If I can find a NIB Glock 19 at the Gun show sold by a private seller, I should have no problem purchasing it legally. If the seller asks, I will have VA ID, a lease with the same address as on my ID, and a passport.

    I'm wondering whether this is a realistic expectation. Is it likely that I'll be able to find a NIB Glock 19 from a private seller? Also, are there any downsides to doing this?

    Option Two- Private FTF Sale in VA, not at Gun Show

    Thanks in advance for the advice.
     
  2. Truckee

    Truckee Aging Goat

    579
    0
    Jul 17, 2005
    Shenandoah Valley
    Jason,
    We may be in the wrong forum here.

    But anyhow and as far as I know, if you show up in Ole Virginny on the 25th with two forms of 'qualified' ID that show the same VA. address and personal information, you can legally buy a HG that day. Of course this is depends upon everything else measuring up as it needs to.

    Where did you get the 30 day thing?
     


  3. jasonwc

    jasonwc

    31
    0
    Jun 14, 2007
    East Brunswick, NJ
    I got the information straight from the Virginia Police Department website, and that information is copied basically verbatim from §18.2-308.2:2. See below:

    "Primary Identification

    The primary form of ID shall consist of a valid photo-ID form issued by a governmental agency of the Commonwealth or of the prospective purchaser or transferee’s home state that denotes the individual’s name, race, sex, address, and date of birth. Where the primary form is a photo-ID issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), the dealer shall not transfer a firearm to the prospective purchaser until 30-days after the date of issue of an original or duplicate driver's license unless a copy of his/her DMV driver's record is presented showing that the original date of issue was more than 30-days prior to the attempted purchase.

    The primary form of ID for a non-Virginia resident, for the purchase of a rifle or shotgun, must consist of a valid photo-ID issued by a governmental agency of the prospective purchaser’s home state that denote the purchaser’s name, race, sex, date of birth and address. Federal law prohibits the sale or transfer of a handgun to a nonresident of the state in which the handgun is being purchased."

    SOURCE: §18.2-308.2:2
    http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-308.2C2
    http://www.vsp.state.va.us/Firearms_VFTP.shtm

    ------

    So the obvious question is whether FFL dealers know about this legal requirement? If not, then I should have no problem buying a gun anywhere. As you noted, the Gun Show's website mentions that you need two forms of ID from the state of Virginia to buy a handgun but says nothing about the 30 day requirement.

    As for the appropriate forum for this post, I decided to put it here because I'm looking to purchase a Glock, and I wasn't sure where else to post it.
     
  4. Truckee

    Truckee Aging Goat

    579
    0
    Jul 17, 2005
    Shenandoah Valley
    Hummmm... when I read your post, the 30 day issue had a air of credibility as it sounded like something that VA. would do. However, I'd not heard of this before or ever read it in statute.

    I'll look into this further and if I find out something contrary, I'll hit you with a post or PM.

    Get your VA. credentials ASAP to cut your wait time. Also, your other avenues to purchase sound viable.

    Sorry if I confused things, I'd just never read this anywhere.

    eta:

    'Glockers of the Old Dominion' might have been a better place to post this. The boys there would have hopped all over your post.

    Also, might I suggest you email Philip Van Cleave at the VCDL with this question. This 30 day issue may just be valid, and probably is. But, the VSP site, although very good, has been known to be off-base at times. Mr. Van Cleave will have this info right off the top of his head.

    Oh yeah, welcome to Virginia... and go to GOTOD to post a "hello." There are many GT members from NOVA. You can probably make some good contacts and new friends.
     
  5. jasonwc

    jasonwc

    31
    0
    Jun 14, 2007
    East Brunswick, NJ
    The earliest I can get VA ID is July 25, as that's the start of the lease. Before that I won't reside in VA.
     
  6. jasonwc

    jasonwc

    31
    0
    Jun 14, 2007
    East Brunswick, NJ
    Note that this is not something that Virginia did. I believe it's Federal law that you cannot purchase a firearm in a state unless you are a resident of that state, and residence is defined as living in a state for a minimum of 30 days. I don't think Virginia is to blame on this one. As far as I know, all states do the same.

    Whether or not the requirement is followed, I don't know.
     
  7. Truckee

    Truckee Aging Goat

    579
    0
    Jul 17, 2005
    Shenandoah Valley
    Maybe it is a Fed statute, could be why I've missed it.

    Check my 'eta' above.
     
  8. jasonwc

    jasonwc

    31
    0
    Jun 14, 2007
    East Brunswick, NJ
    Thanks for the welcome. I'll check out the 'Glockers of the Old Dominion' forum tomorrow as it's getting a bit late at the moment.

    As for the 30 day wait, I doubt the VSP website is wrong on this instance as as Google search of the language brings up the Virginia Statue cited. I have linked the full statute above. It's possible, though unlikely, that the statute is out of date.

    EDIT:

    Truckee, I have sent an email as you suggested to Philip Van Cleave. I'll post his response here if I receive one.
     
  9. rwrjr

    rwrjr

    891
    0
    May 25, 2007
    Northern VA
    Hi Jason,
    I think I remember some of your earlier posts about open carry in VA. IIRC you will be moving to Arlington or Fairfax Co. If you end up waiting the 30 days you have several of options. You can buy retail from Blue Ridge Arsenal, which is in Chantilly, very close to where the July gun show will be. Or you can buy from my favorite source, Summit Gun Broker. I just bought a second G19 from Summit and they have good prices. You could order it before your 30 days were up, say on day 24 or 25. It will take a few days for the order to get to the FFL of your choice and you just take ownership from the FFL on or after day 30. I'd wait 31 just so there was no confusion, but that's me. I can recommend a good FFL in Fairfax, I've used him twice and have two more coming which will be going through him.

    Good luck whatever route you choose. Perhaps I'll bump into you at the gun show.

    Ron
     
  10. DannyR

    DannyR Moderator Millennium Member

    19,804
    180
    Dec 17, 1998
    Roanoke, Virginia
    I don't think it can be done legally, and for good reason. When your 30 days are up, the address on your VA driver's license must match the address on your proof of residency--lease, electric bill, bank statement.
     
  11. He's not asking how he can break the law.

    He's asking how he can keep from breaking the law.



    Jason,

    While your interpretation of VA laws seems correct to me,

    Your chances of finding a NIB G19 from a non-dealer are pretty slim.

    Most of the people selling guns at the Nations Capital gun show are dealers. At least the guys with the tables full of guns are dealers. There occasionally are people with tables of stuff other than guns, with one or 2 personal guns for sale.

    Your best chance is to find someone walking around trying to sell a used G19. Or visit the local ranges and check their bulliten boards for one for sale.

    I'd suggest you tape a sign to your back that says "Wanted nice condition used Glock 19" and spend a couple days walking around the show.

    As a side note, don't go into a long explanation of why you need to buy in a person to person sale, just show them your VA DL and pay them.

    Other than that you may just have to suck it up and wait. I know you want the G19 now, but how long did you live in NJ? The extra 30 days should be a cake walk to wait.
     
  12. Wayne D

    Wayne D

    89
    0
    Dec 29, 2002
    Christiansburg, VA
    He didn't, he ask

     
  13. jegoodin

    jegoodin CLM #51 CLM

    57
    0
    Aug 5, 2005
    Northern VA
    Your interpretation is correct. You have to wait 30 days after getting your Virginia ID (DL) before you can take delivery of a handgun from a dealer. You can "buy it" before that date, but you cannot take delivery before the 30 days is up. That is not the same as a 30 day waiting period; although in Virginia if you don't have a CHP you have to wait 30 days between handgun purchases.

    You can buy a handgun from a private individual without having to wait 30 days from the date your DL was issued. Personally, I would not sell you one of my guns until the 30 days was up, but it would be legal.
     
  14. jasonwc

    jasonwc

    31
    0
    Jun 14, 2007
    East Brunswick, NJ
    Perhaps you should re-read my post. I made it very clear that I was looking for a LEGAL means to purchase without the wait.

    The pertinent line is: "So, the question is, what is the best way to go about purchasing a NIB Glock legally in VA without waiting the 30 days?" (emphasis added)

    Truckee:

    I got a very quick response from Philip van Cleave. I've posted it in its entirety below:

    Jason,

    That 30-day wait on residency is valid law as far as I know (I'm
    cc'ing our Executive members in case I am missing something). So the
    two options you mention below are valid.

    Fairfax requires proof of residency in Fairfax for a CHP. We think
    this is BS, but you will need your driver's license and something
    like a utility bill with the address on it. Again, one of our
    Fairfax EMs can give details.

    Welcome to VA! You're going to like it here.

    Regards,
    Philip
     
  15. jasonwc

    jasonwc

    31
    0
    Jun 14, 2007
    East Brunswick, NJ
    I've heard good things about Summit Gun Broker and that would probably be my most likely retail source. I considered calling to ask their cost on a NIB Glock 19 but I didn't want to bother them until I was actually ready to purchase. Would you mind telling me how much you were charged at Summit for your Glock 19? Also, what did you pay in FFL fees?
     
  16. rwrjr

    rwrjr

    891
    0
    May 25, 2007
    Northern VA
    No problem. $459 + $15 shipping. FFL fee is $27 from the guy I use. So total out of pocket is $501.

    That's the cash price, I think he adds 3% for CC. I just mail a cashiers check to get the cash price. Summit has new & used mags, so if you want extras, I suggest ordering them with your gun so they're included in the $15 shipping charge. The gun comes with two hi-cap mags.
     
  17. jasonwc

    jasonwc

    31
    0
    Jun 14, 2007
    East Brunswick, NJ
    Thanks for the info. I was considering purchasing mags from Botatch due to their ridiculously low price of $14 for new magazines, but you're right that I might be better of just paying the $19 at Summit as shipping is already covered. Additionally, I wouldn't have to worry about Botach's crappy customer service.

    BTW, would you recommend against purchasing used magazines?
     
  18. marinr

    marinr

    123
    0
    Apr 29, 2006
    Virginia
    Though you didn't ask specifically, I'll suggest that as soon as you get a driver's license you begin the process to get a Concealed Handgun Permit.

    In Virginia that will allow you not only to carry a handgun concealed in many places, it will allow you to carry openly in some places you may not carry concealed, and it will allow you to purchase more than one handgun in a 30-day period.
     
  19. jasonwc

    jasonwc

    31
    0
    Jun 14, 2007
    East Brunswick, NJ
    I will be submitting my CHP application the day I arrive in Virginia.

    I believe you are incorrect regarding Open Carry. The Concealed Carry Permit gives you the legal right to carry a gun concealed, and as you mentioned, to purchase multiple handguns a month. However, anyone who legally owns a handgun can open carry in Virginia; no permit or license is required.

    The only place I'm aware of that you cannot carry concealed but can carry openly in Virginia is in restaurants that serve alcohol on premise. And you are legally entitled to carry openly in such restaurants without a concealed handgun permit.