close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Bushmaster AR-15 A2

Discussion in 'Black Rifle Forum' started by conch27, Jun 11, 2011.


  1. conch27

    conch27
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    87
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    I just purchased one of these. It was a Maine based company close to me and got one that still said Windahm Maine on it. I understand the moved to NY. I just wanted to throw out that it ran perfect out of the box with 30 round mags shooting a mix of WWB, PMC, and cheap steal cased Herters. My first AR type rifle. Wow did that thing get hot.
    Anyone prefer any must have upgrades to the gun? These are new to me and wanted to pick the brains of the ones in the know. Thanks
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. eracer

    eracer
    Expand Collapse
    Where's my EBT?

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    6,711
    2
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
  3. conch27

    conch27
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    87
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    :wow:

    Ya I was thing more about internally. I am not sure I could carry that thing!
     
  4. ancient_serpent

    ancient_serpent
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    3,055
    136
    Personally I would go order a full auto bolt from Bravo Company. A decent red dot (Aimpoint or EOtech) optic, VTAC sling and flashlight mount with a Surefire 6P. You'll be good to go.
     
  5. eracer

    eracer
    Expand Collapse
    Where's my EBT?

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    6,711
    2
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I'm of the mind that "If it ain't broke, don't fix it."

    Too many people start swapping internal parts and end with with a rifle that doesn't work as well as when they got it. Bushmaster has been making AR-15's for a long time. They know how to build them for shooters like us.

    Having said all that, the #1 thing to get IMHO is a new trigger. I've heard all the arguments above training with the OEM trigger before spending the money for a good trigger. I say, 'Horse Hockey!"

    Nothing improves the usability of an AR-15 like a good trigger.

    Also, the Spike's ST2 buffer is a nice addition.

    What kind of optics does your Bushmaster have? If it's a flat top, then a nice optic like an Aimpoint, or a low-power scope, along with a BUIS (Back-up Iron Sight) is a worthwhile addition. Those aren't internal parts, per se, but I'd thought I'd mention it anyway.
     
    #5 eracer, Jun 11, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2011
  6. M&P15T

    M&P15T
    Expand Collapse
    Beard One

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    21,513
    3,579
    Location:
    Arlington, VA.
    You need an ACD mounted to it. ACD stands for automatic claymore deployer.:rofl:
     
  7. mvician

    mvician
    Expand Collapse
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    3,149
    6
    Location:
    NW Indiana

    Lube and ammo. Shoot it. If something breaks, replace it with a higher quality part.


    After you've had it for a while. you will know what you want or don't want.
    Don't start slapping a bunch of cheap crap on it to make it tacticool.
     
    #7 mvician, Jun 11, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2011
  8. RyanNREMTP

    RyanNREMTP
    Expand Collapse
    Inactive/Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    3,556
    4
    Location:
    Waco, Texas
    The only thing internally I would add is more ammo.
     
  9. Glockdude1

    Glockdude1
    Expand Collapse
    Federal Member
    CLM

    Joined:
    May 24, 2000
    24,116
    2,462
    Location:
    Beaumont,Texas
    Congrats!!

    All you need is PMAGS and more ammo.

    :thumbsup:
     
  10. mjkeat

    mjkeat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    3,447
    3
    Location:
    Midwest
    Great advice.
     
  11. STI

    STI
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    427
    8
    Location:
    Cash,Texas
    Question for all, just asking. Why P mags when the othere work perfectly? I have been using my mage for lots of yrs and never a problem, just curious?
     
  12. mjkeat

    mjkeat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    3,447
    3
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ive found PMags to be more reliable on a more consistant basis.
     
  13. conch27

    conch27
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    87
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    Sounds great to me! Thanks everyone.
     
  14. bmoore

    bmoore
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    4,373
    5
    Location:
    Under a regime.
    You have a great carbine, I wouldnt mess with it unless you really want to. I prefer rifles without a whole lot of junk on them. I am also not a combat operator.
     
  15. nipperwolf

    nipperwolf
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    3,067
    26
    FWIW, the OP's rifle is not a flat top. ;)
     
  16. RyanNREMTP

    RyanNREMTP
    Expand Collapse
    Inactive/Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    3,556
    4
    Location:
    Waco, Texas

    The optic can be placed on a quad rail or with a special mount onto the carry handle.
     
  17. scromer

    scromer
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 1999
    659
    0
    Location:
    Upstate South Carolina
  18. conch27

    conch27
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    87
    0
    Location:
    Maine
  19. ancient_serpent

    ancient_serpent
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    3,055
    136
    FWIW, it doesn't have to be. :cool:
     
  20. conch27

    conch27
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    87
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    I have been shooting it quite a bit and have decided to get a scope and this question just came to me. I have a fixed front sight and the carry handle rear sight is removable. Do I need a riser on the scope to make sure the front sight is not an issue?