close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Brute force questions

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by seti870, Jul 7, 2004.

1. seti870

seti870
    Expand Collapse

Hello. I apologize for the subject, I promise this is on the up and up. Honest.

Recently, I've been tasked as my 13 year old cousin's keeper. My relatives have requested that I remove certain personal information from his websites and online journal, primarily home phone number, family name, and the like.

To this end I need to access his freewebs.com account. I have his username, and know his password to be between 5 and 8 characters.

My options, as I see them, are thus.

a) install keystroke logging software on his computer

b) prolonged guessing at the login window

c) some automated form of B, which I understand is called brute force cracking.

I'm new at this.

a) isn't my first choice, becuase it means 5 hours driving. There is also a remote possibility he'll discover the new software.

What are my options as far as C ?

Regardless of how this turns out, he's going to have his computer removed for a good long while.

Appreciate any suggestions.

Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. grantglock

grantglock
    Expand Collapse
    /dev/null

ask him what it is

3. ronin_asano

ronin_asano
    Expand Collapse

asking him is the best option.

you don't want to run an attack against a server you don't own. they wouldn't take that too kindly.

4. G22Leon

G22Leon
    Expand Collapse

As ronin indicated, it would not be wise to attempt to brute force his account. Personally, it would take to long, without the proper tools to do it. The keylogger is the easiest way, though you mentioned a travel issue. You could instruct the persons parents on how to install the software... How computer savvy is this 13 year old. Wise enough to notice rogue processes? Possible, but unlikely..

-Leon

5. gudel

gudel
    Expand Collapse