close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Brand new HP has frozen up 3 times. Ideas?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by NateHodge, Dec 7, 2008.


  1. NateHodge

    NateHodge
    Expand Collapse
    Here too much

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    2,531
    0
    Location:
    Laurel, MS
    I bought an HP laptop a week ago. The only thing I have put on here are Full Tilt Poker and Limewire the day I got it. And tuesday, I put Itunes on here. Tuesday night, while playing poker, it froze up. Even Ctrl-Alt-Del didn't get me a response. It did the same thing wednesday, and again just a few minutes ago.

    At first, I was thinking it was Itunes since it ran like a sewing machine until the day I installed Itunes. But thinking back, all three times it locked up, I was playing poker. Any ideas? Has anyone heard of any issues with the programs I have installed?

    FYI: I am running Vista 64-Bit and I use Norton.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. betyourlife

    betyourlife
    Expand Collapse
    on a GLOCK

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    5,590
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Return it?
     

  3. stolivar

    stolivar
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    316
    2
    Location:
    Missouri
    IT is one of the biggest problems on letting in spyware, virus's and trojans.


    steve
     
  4. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,699
    982
    Location:
    Indiana
    I'd have to agree, but it doesn't appear Limewire is the culprit.

    Use the Laptiop for anything but Full Tilt for a while, and see if all goes well. Maybe a couple hours. After said couple of hours, if nothing happens, fire up Full Tilt, and see how it goes. If it Freezes up w/ Full Tilt running, thats a pretty good indication.

    Beyond that, does it appear the Fans are running, Good ventilation, etc?

    IGF
     
  5. NateHodge

    NateHodge
    Expand Collapse
    Here too much

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    2,531
    0
    Location:
    Laurel, MS
    I'm guessint that would be a no-go. I'd be willing to bet they would claim "software issues causes by third party vendors".


    I agree 100% that people with no knowledge of what to look for should stay the hell away from limewire. It is a big outlet for Trojans and trackers, but like I said, alot of people don't know what to look for or how to safely use it. And, people that don't know what they are doing use it blindly with no protection. So far, I have had 2 other computers and have run limewire on both without a hitch. My step dad has also had 2 laptops that he run limewire on with no issues. But I don't allow anyone to download anything onto my machines. On this HP in particular, I haven't even downloaded anything.
     
  6. volsbear

    volsbear
    Expand Collapse
    IWannaBeSedated
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    11,457
    43
    Location:
    Illinois
    How much memory?
     
  7. NateHodge

    NateHodge
    Expand Collapse
    Here too much

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    2,531
    0
    Location:
    Laurel, MS

    According to manufacturers specs, 320GB hard Drive, 4gigs of ram. Looking at the C drive, 248GB free of 288 total.
     
  8. volsbear

    volsbear
    Expand Collapse
    IWannaBeSedated
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    11,457
    43
    Location:
    Illinois
    I don't hear about too many laptops running well with Vista. Remember, the operating system alone sucks up 1.5GB.
     
  9. NateHodge

    NateHodge
    Expand Collapse
    Here too much

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    2,531
    0
    Location:
    Laurel, MS

    Yeah, I'm not a fan of Vista, which brings up another topic. Can I downgrade to XP? The Office Depot guy said no.
     
  10. volsbear

    volsbear
    Expand Collapse
    IWannaBeSedated
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    11,457
    43
    Location:
    Illinois
    Actually I believe you can. My brother is part owner of a large computer company and they downgrade to visits on each machine before it goes to customers. I'm not sure how it does it though.
     
  11. Kentucky_Guy

    Kentucky_Guy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    1,064
    0
    Location:
    Lexington, Kentucky
    Youve got two problems:

    Limewire and Norton.......Your computer is loaded with viruses and spyware right now

    Limewire is loaded with viruses and trojans, and you HAVE to have a high-quality anti-virus, spyware program to use with it...

    and norton AINT' IT....Norton is the biggest POS antivirus on the market......

    get yourself a copy of NOD-32 here :

    http://www.eset.com/

    get the 30 day free trial and you will find God knows how many nasty things on your machine from Limewire.....

    I use Limewire with complete confidence with NOD32...it picks up the corrupted files before they even download....then move on to the next download til you find a good one......

    and as soon as you download NOD32, completely remove that over-bloated, resource hog Norton off your machine.....
     
    #11 Kentucky_Guy, Dec 7, 2008
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2008
  12. DustyJacket

    DustyJacket
    Expand Collapse
    Directiv 10-289

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    6,470
    120
    Location:
    Missouri, East of KC
    +1 for Limewire (you aren't downloading pirated copyrighted songs are you? :cool: )
     
  13. Big Al 24

    Big Al 24
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    1,244
    0
    LIMEWIRE!?!?!? I can't believe there's people still using that. Yeah I'd wipe the whole machine and never use Limewire again. At least use Utorrent or get hooked into a Usenext account like a modern human being. I'd try Utorrent if you need to share. And just so people know, there's plenty of legal downloads that happen with torrents. It's not all music and movies. Limewire??? :rofl:
     
  14. NateHodge

    NateHodge
    Expand Collapse
    Here too much

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    2,531
    0
    Location:
    Laurel, MS

    I have heard a lot of good things about NOD-32. Supposed to be one of the best(if not THE best), right? After powering on my computer for the first time and going throught the initial setup and creating the recovery discs, I deliberately clicked on suspicious files in Limewire to see what Norton would do. It caught them and stopped cold to my surprise.

    I activated Norton because it was free for a year with the computer. before I got this computer, I ran Mcafee because it was free with Comcast. I can still get Mcafee for free, but wanted to give Norton a try first. Can I DL NOD-32 without having compatibality issues with Norton?

    Big Al, what is a good torrent client? Last time I used a torrent client, it was BitTorrent, which I liked. I tried Vuse and didn't really care for it. Ideas?
     
  15. DoubleWide

    DoubleWide
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    3,858
    76
    I would suspect Full Tilt Poker is causing the problems, but agree you should get rid of LimeWire too.

    Since you probably only have a week* to make sure it's not something else. I'd do a full reformat and restore using the restore section or cd if you have them. Afterward run a torture test program like Prime95 to see if you have any problems. More than likely, it's the Full Tilt Poker client.

    *A day or two after Christmas, you could try to return/exchange it as a Christmas present that was just opened and is now having problems.
     
  16. noway

    noway
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    8,735
    2
    Location:
    Davie "Cowboy" , FL
  17. Ralff

    Ralff
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    1,286
    2
    Location:
    Central FL
    I don't think a COMPLETELY DIFFERENT OPERATING SYSTEM is the answer the OP is looking for.

    I'm thinking heat or faulty hardware. It's the only things I've had wrong with my PC that would actually lock it like that.
     
  18. Big Al 24

    Big Al 24
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    1,244
    0
    I believe Utorrent is the most widely used client now. I use it occasionally, and you still have to be careful. The realy gold mine is Usenext, but if you don't know about it, I'm not going to be the one to let the cat out of the bag.
     
  19. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,699
    982
    Location:
    Indiana
    Agreed, this sounds more like some sort of hardware issue, which a new OS is not gonna fix. That said, I run Frostwire on my Linux boxes, and am still waiting for some spyware/virus problems.. :)

    IGF
     
  20. solomansousana

    solomansousana
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    1,522
    0
    Location:
    Hampton, Virginia
    Run HP's system restore, and restore it to a point before you installed itunes and see if that fixes it. If not, do a full system restore.