close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Brand New G17L Stovepipe Issue

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by gregeby, Feb 12, 2012.

Tags:
  1. gregeby

gregeby

I am fairly new to Glocks, and I am new to this forum. I currently own 3 Glocks: a G26, a G17 (new and unfired), and a G17L (new - fired for the first time today).

As I noted above, I recently acquired a G17L and decided to go to the range today to try it out. The gun was recently manufactured (September, 2011). Out of approximately 200 assorted factory rounds, I experienced two stovepipes. The first jam occurred with RWS 124 grain FMJ. I believe the second occurred with Black Hills 124 grain JHP. I am using standard factory Glock mags (17 round mags). Perhaps I am being too picky, but my G26 has hundreds of rounds through it and has functioned flawlessly. [This is the kind of perfection I expect from Glock.]

After I was finished shooting, I noticed that one of the range staff was eyeballing my 17L. He began extolling the virtues and qualities of the G17L. He uses the same model for 3-Gun Competition and loves it. He was surprised when I told him about the two stovepipe jams. He offered to put the gun through its paces himself, and so I handed him the gun. he took the 3 mags and began loading a few rounds in each one. Then he began rapid firing the gun - followed by several rounds of deliberate slow fire. No hiccups. He handed me the gun and confidently declared, "There is nothing wrong with this gun. I would trust it from now on. Perhaps it was an ammo issue or a burr (since it is a brand new gun)."

Of course, additional time at the range will tell me if this is a break-in issue. I am not sure that the few rounds he put through it is a guarantee of future performance. I must admit I was a tad disappointed, however. I recognize I am a perfectionist. Am I being too hard on the 17L? Any thoughts?

2. bentbiker

bentbiker

3. Gperfection

Gperfection