close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Black screen after POST/BIOS

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Drjones, Jul 1, 2011.


  1. Drjones

    Drjones
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    6,117
    1
    Location:
    CA, just outside the United States
    Hi guys....trying to diagnose a computer problem.

    It's a Dell Dimension 5150. It will not display anything at all from the onboard video, so I popped in a graphics card that I know is good: I have an almost identical tower as my primary PC (Dimension E521) and I upgraded my graphics card, so I have my old card lying around that I threw into it.

    The box will display POST info & I can get into the BIOS, but that's all; after that, I just get a glowing black screen; it's illuminating the monitor, but not displaying anything; no error messages or anything.

    RAM is good, already ran a test on that, as well as re-seated it & dusted out the interior thoroughly. I haven't checked out the HD, but have never seen a bad HD have this effect on a box.

    My thought is the entire MoBo is fried/bad.....what do you guys think?

    Thank you!
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. srhoades

    srhoades
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    2,784
    9
    So can you make changes to the BIOS or does it crap out after you enter the BIOS?
     

  3. Drjones

    Drjones
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    6,117
    1
    Location:
    CA, just outside the United States
    I can do whatever I want in the BIOS, and it also displayed an image just perfectly while it was running a memory test from a bootable CD I have.

    It only displays an image through the add-in graphics, though.
     
  4. srhoades

    srhoades
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    2,784
    9
    If you have the BIOS set to PCI for the display instead of onboard and it is still blank, then I would agree the board is no good.
     
    #4 srhoades, Jul 1, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2011
  5. Drjones

    Drjones
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    6,117
    1
    Location:
    CA, just outside the United States

    Yeah, I double-checked the BIOS setting for video before posting this thread & it's set to "Auto", which is where it says it should be to use either the on-board graphics or a PCI card...

    Too bad the boards' no good....oh well.....
     
  6. GotGlock1917

    GotGlock1917
    Expand Collapse
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    6,713
    0
    Location:
    Central Arkansas
    Have you tried booting in safe mode and reinstalling the video card drivers?
     
  7. srhoades

    srhoades
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    2,784
    9
    Instead of Auto can you manually set it to PCI? Maybe it is no auto-detecting the card and thinks the slot is empty. If it is displaying the BIOS then it is working to an extent. I bet it is switching back to onboard when it loads the OS.
     
    #7 srhoades, Jul 1, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2011
  8. Drjones

    Drjones
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    6,117
    1
    Location:
    CA, just outside the United States
    I can't even get it into safe mode....if I don't get into the BIOS, it will not display anything after that....
     
  9. Drjones

    Drjones
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    6,117
    1
    Location:
    CA, just outside the United States

    No, it's got settings for either "Auto" or "onboard/PEG."

    Just to be sure, I switched it from auto to onboard/PEG and it's still exactly the same.

    There is a setting where it will tell you what, if anything, is plugged into the PCI slots, and it recognizes the graphics card I have inserted.

    :dunno:
     
  10. GotGlock1917

    GotGlock1917
    Expand Collapse
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    6,713
    0
    Location:
    Central Arkansas
    Oh, I see. I misread.
     
  11. srhoades

    srhoades
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    2,784
    9
    Perhaps try resetting the bios either via the jumper or yanking the battery. Go back into the BIOS and set it to onboard and see what it does. I guess that is the last grasping at straws option.
     
  12. GotGlock1917

    GotGlock1917
    Expand Collapse
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    6,713
    0
    Location:
    Central Arkansas
    Do the diagnostic lights tell you anything?
     
  13. GAFinch

    GAFinch
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    5,897
    22
    Location:
    Georgia
    If your video card works from a boot cd, then it's most likely a software issue, not your motherboard. Sometimes when you install drivers for a video card, it will disable/remove the drivers from your onboard video, which is why the onboard's not showing up from the boot CD. Boot from your Windows Install disc and try doing a System Repair installation. If it does work, keep in mind you will have to re-install all the security updates and service packs again.
     
  14. Detectorist

    Detectorist
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    12,686
    2,090
    Location:
    Missouri
    Do you have the original Operating System CD and can you boot to the Repair Console from it?

    What operating system?

    Edit:

    Was the power button light green or yellow when you get the black screen? If it was green there is a 99% chance it's software.

    You need to come back and give us update.
     
    #14 Detectorist, Jul 9, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2011
  15. da chef

    da chef
    Expand Collapse
    glock convert

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    149
    2
    Location:
    The "Free" State
    try reseating sata hdd cable or hdd power cable?
     
  16. Pierre!

    Pierre!
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    3,907
    92
    Location:
    Lovin Sparks Nv!
    I always disconnect every non essential device, and work up from there...

    Could be you have a failure in another device - CD/DVD, HD, and it's dragging the PSU down just enough to act funny...

    Add the HD first and see what happens... If No Joy,
    Add the CD/DVD and start running MB/CPU/RAM tests overnight.

    In the AM, try adding a known good drive and see what happens.

    You may find something in there, and if not use your 'spare' troubleshooting PSU to assure that the PSU isn't failing.

    Something is busted, just got to work the puzzle!

    don't you *love* being >PAID< to solve puzzles?!?!? :faint:
     
  17. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,557
    816
    Location:
    Indiana
    :agree:
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
Computer won't advance past bios screen Tech Talk Sep 23, 2015
TSA Screen after deplaning? The Okie Corral Sep 18, 2014
Vostro 1500 Black screen Tech Talk Dec 1, 2011
Laptop screen going black Tech Talk Jul 13, 2011
Black screen?? Tech Talk May 18, 2011
Duty Gear at CopsPlus