close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Best personal defense ammo

Discussion in 'Caliber Corner' started by xdx2, Jun 3, 2010.

1. xdx2

xdx2
    Expand Collapse

I'm fairly new to the Glock and have only put 400 rds. total through my 26 and 19. Now I know someone wants to tell me just to goggle this question but, I feel this is what these forums are for to talk among friends with similar interests so. I would like to use my 9mm for PD, I know many will say well you should of picked a different caliber to start with but this is what I have and I plan to depend on it to God forbid save my life. I know 115gr. gives better penetration due to velocity and 124gr. and 147gr. makes bigger holes, but I like to know from you folks who have had to use your weapon to protect you and your family from harm, what is your experience and therefore the best overall round to carry if I should ever need to use my weapon. Thanks

Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. degoodman

degoodman
    Expand Collapse
    Out of Columbus

Choose a current manufacture defensive ammunition offering from a major manufacturer that you can actually obtain, locally as well as from the internet if possible, at a reasonable price. Once you have made your selection, plan on shooting 100 - 200 rounds of it to verify that it functions in your firearm, shoots to your point of aim, has recoil, muzzle blast and muzzle flash that you can tolerate, etc. If it passes those tests, you're done from an ammunition perspective.

Spend the rest of your time and money on training ammo and classes when you can get to them. The best defensive ammo in the world won't do you a bit of good if you can't place them on target in a crisis.