close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Best Dig Camera without the lag time

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by CarbineKid, Jul 26, 2005.


  1. CarbineKid

    CarbineKid
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2001
    317
    0
    Location:
    RI
    I have a 2 Olympus digital cameras(and my family has several others) and they all suffer from the same problem. Whenever I hit the botton to take a picture theres a lag of a second or two before the camera actualy takes the picture. I have missed several good shots becasue of this. My old film camera took the picture the instant I hit the button. So are there any digital cameras that do the same without the lag time, o is this just "normal" on digital cameras.
    Thanks in advance
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. DeadMansLife

    DeadMansLife
    Expand Collapse
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2000
    916
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    How do you have your flash set?

    If it is set for red eye reduction it will lag a lot.
     

  3. Tvov

    Tvov
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2000
    4,460
    309
    Location:
    CT,USA
    We have a Canon A95 (I think that is what it is), and we had the same problem. We were just using it on "auto", and it seemed forever before the camera would take the picture. My wife flipped through the instruction manual (;b , my first thought was: "instruction manual, what's that?") and found how to set it for "instant action" shots. It still seems a little slow than film cameras, but it is much better.
     
  4. Anon1

    Anon1
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2000
    1,118
    169
  5. Uncle Don

    Uncle Don
    Expand Collapse
    Wood butcher

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    1,333
    94
    Location:
    Midwest
    I have a fugi and it did the same thing, but it has a feature that when you push the button half way, it auto focuses, then when you push the rest of way, it takes the picture.

    Therefore, if I want something instant, I pre-focus on the area and then push the rest of the way at the action point. Works fine.
     
  6. Toyman

    Toyman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    2,597
    20
    Location:
    West Michigan
    No, this is not normal with all digital cameras. I have an Olympus E-10 and it doesn't do that, but it's a high end full size DSLR. Typically these DSLR's don't have much of a delay at all, but they will run you $900-$1500.

    Part of the delay is focusing, and part of it is calculating the auto-exposure. Not all cameras focus at the same speed, and not all process information for exposure at the same speed. Canon's are the best hands down for focus speed (at least the EOS types).
     
  7. erikd65

    erikd65
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    75
    0
    Location:
    Spokane, Washington
    Nikon D70, hands down
     
  8. funbob

    funbob
    Expand Collapse
    do a lil' dance

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    271
    0
    Location:
    ABQ, NM
    Any DSLR will have have lag times comparable to that of film. For a compact digicam, the performance of my Sony models is excellent. A few things you can do to improve the response time are to press the shutter button halfway down to prefocus and set exposure before the shot is taken, if you're going to be taking pictures at a known distance, set the focus manually. Most digicams have a menu setting for this somewhere and the depth of field is so deep with compact digicams that there's enough latitude to do this and not suffer blurry pictures. Lastly, check to see if your camera has an option for continuous AF. The disadvantage is that this will use somewhat more battery but it won't take as long to focus on the shot as it's constantly adjusting the focus on the fly.
     
  9. GTIMANiac

    GTIMANiac
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2001
    77
    0
    Combined with an external flash and you are in great shape. I have an SpeedLight 800 on mine, and even with the flash I still get 3 frames a second.
     
  10. Me&MyG23

    Me&MyG23
    Expand Collapse
    Right here!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    114
    0
    Location:
    Tampa Bay, Florida
    Don't know if your camera has the burst feature or not. When I'm trying to get an "action" pic of some sort, I used the 3 or 5 shot burst. Usually comes up with some really good pics.