close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Backtrack

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by GenX, Feb 14, 2011.


  1. GenX

    GenX
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    510
    38
    Location:
    Idaho
    Is anyone well versed in this linux distro? The problem is, getting a persistent usb install to boot on a newer laptop with an nvidia optimus gpu. At startx, no display and I've tried quite a few things. It will boot on a desktop with an ATI card. It's a persistent usb install on an 8 gig thumb drive.

    What I'm trying to do, is get BT to use the intel gpu the same way ubuntu 10.10 is using it.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
    #1 GenX, Feb 14, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2011
  2. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,683
    972
    Location:
    Indiana
    I'm no that familiar w/ it.. but in theory, it should boot w/o issue.. I'm *guessing*... something in xorg.conf is causing it not to load X, because it is trying to load the ATI driver...

    Can you boot Backtrack Live on that machine?
     

  3. GenX

    GenX
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    510
    38
    Location:
    Idaho
    I tried on a live dvd and get the same results. The usb is a live install, but I want to run it off the usb with persistence. What I have researched, it seems that optimus royally screws things up, with no intent to support it.

    Although, maverick is running just fine. I tried installing nvidia early on with 10.10, but ended up just using the nouveau drivers.
     
    #3 GenX, Feb 14, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2011
  4. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,683
    972
    Location:
    Indiana
    Yeah, unfortunately, I'm not that familiar w/ Backtrack.. so I'm not gonna be much use.

    Get on IRC, get on the #freenode network, and join #backtrack-linux

    Someone there may have an idea.

    http://webchat.freenode.net/
     
  5. GenX

    GenX
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    510
    38
    Location:
    Idaho
    Thanks. Thinking that using some of the tools in ubuntu will be easier. Pretty much just have to patch drivers on an already working system. That's pretty daunting stuff too, but it takes my mind off of other things.
     
  6. gemeinschaft

    gemeinschaft
    Expand Collapse
    AKA Fluffy316

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    2,181
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Have you tried running BT in a Virtual Box?

    I know it's not a USB, but I would be interested if that at least works for you.

    I have played with BT a little and there is a lot there to learn, so I am definitely not expert.
     
  7. GenX

    GenX
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    510
    38
    Location:
    Idaho
    Have not. I was under the impression it couldn't be used for auditing in a virtual machine. It is definitely not for new users of linux and I have a ways to go before using it efficiently. Even using it on a desktop, for me to get injection working on a usb wifi adapter is going to be a challenge. If it's even possible for said adapter.
     
    #7 GenX, Feb 14, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2011
  8. gemeinschaft

    gemeinschaft
    Expand Collapse
    AKA Fluffy316

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    2,181
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Not sure if this is the exact solution, but I think it may give you a roadmap to it:

    http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forums/hardware-compatibility-list/36066-intel-hd-graphics-|-backtrack-4-r2.html
     
  9. GenX

    GenX
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    510
    38
    Location:
    Idaho
    Thanks. I registered a couple weeks ago and did see that thread. My xorg.conf file is nothing compared to what's in the thread. There is absolutely nothing to edit. There is another poster on there that is trying to get the same machine going, with no luck. Fix-vesa does not work. I can get networking through terminal if I'm wired, just no display.
     
  10. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,683
    972
    Location:
    Indiana
    Unfortunately using it in Virtualbox is going to probably be close to useless. Tried it... not to say it's impossible, but I couldn't get it to work properly.
     
  11. GenX

    GenX
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    510
    38
    Location:
    Idaho
    I just tried loading in virtual box and it flat out wont install.
     
  12. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,683
    972
    Location:
    Indiana
    LOL... Well I managed to get it to install (granted, this was a while ago)... but enabling any of its features was impossible for me.

    IGF
     
  13. wct097

    wct097
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2000
    1,958
    21
    Location:
    VA
    Might try running:

    Xorg -configure

    Probably needs to have the proper mode setup.
     
  14. GenX

    GenX
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    510
    38
    Location:
    Idaho
    Pretty sure it failed because I used an iso image and not a vmware image.
     
  15. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,683
    972
    Location:
    Indiana
    You should be able to boot an ISO image, and install it to a virtual hard drive.

    I never used a Vmware image (note, I used Virtualbox also, if that matters.. not VMware)

    IGF