close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

AVG users: Be warned

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Drjones, Dec 3, 2010.


  1. Drjones

    Drjones
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    6,117
    1
    Location:
    CA, just outside the United States
    I'm bummed and a little ticked. I've been a big fan of AVG's free antivirus because, foremost, it's free, it's relatively unobtrusive, it updates itself daily and scans your system once a week.

    A few days ago my computer (Win7 Ultimate X64) freaked out, it prompted me to do a system repair/restore, and really worried me as I've been running Windows for years, have NEVER had major issues, and I really know what I'm doing.

    I was worried that my new SSD was failing, or some other component in my computer, or who knows what....

    Then today I get a call from a client whose computer did the same thing, except it wouldn't come back up at all.

    So I'm reading the tech headlines and come across several stories about how AVG's recent update totally hosed a number of Win7 x64 systems. :steamed:

    It certainly doesn't seem limited to x64 though, as I just finished doing a clean install of Win7 Pro x86 on a laptop and it was freaking out too - randomly rebooting itself - until I uninstalled AVG just now.

    So if you run AVG, be forewarned.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. kirgi08

    kirgi08
    Expand Collapse
    Southern Rogue.
    Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    33,584
    2,734
    Location:
    Acme proving grounds.
    tagged.
     

  3. Pierre!

    Pierre!
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    3,924
    110
    Location:
    Lovin Sparks Nv!
    Okay - That makes sense...

    I also fixed a 'down' system that was a Vista Home 64 system.

    Freezing on AVG files, no safe mode possible...

    Didn't see the info that you found however.

    Ohhh... Now you got me thinking. If that client updates AVG again... :wow: Well the evil side of me says... Nuther Service Call!!! But the Good Service Tech will be emailing the client saying 'get rid of AVG'... :cool:

    Thanks Dr.Jones!
     
  4. dglockster

    dglockster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2001
    1,421
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    For those of us who are not as tech savvy as y'all are, what do you recommend to replace AVG?

    Thanks.
     
  5. NYcarry

    NYcarry
    Expand Collapse
    Banana!Banana!

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    199
    0
    AVAST or Microsoft Security Essentials
     
  6. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    A word of warning about Microsoft Security Essentials ... it has some flaws in it's update process. MSE uses Windows Auto update service and a definition update can be missed for any number of reasons, the computer maybe on standby or hibernation etc ... during the scheduled time and not updated until the following day. Also MSE does not consider the virus database old until 7 days have passed.


    To avoid missed updates you should schedule a daily quick scan and select the option to "Check for latest virus & spyware definitions before running a schedule scan" select a time that you know the computer will be available.


    ... that said, I install it on all of my customers computers, unless they prefer another program and are willing to pay for it.
     
    #6 Sgt. Schultz, Dec 3, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2010
  7. Green_Manelishi

    Green_Manelishi
    Expand Collapse
    Knicker Knotter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    4,716
    0
    Location:
    On the edge but not quite over ...
    What if still running Vista?
     
  8. JimBianchi

    JimBianchi
    Expand Collapse
    Da Da
    CLM
    1. The Outpost Lounge

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    6,193
    277
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Mine also had to be restored to a previously good configuration, but it has worked flawlessly since then. (Wednesday)

    I read the AVG published a fix that seems to have fixed it for most people, me included.
     
  9. Jay S.

    Jay S.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    953
    80
    Location:
    The Deep South
    The same thing happened to my daughters laptop last week. It is DOA. I will now have to re-install Windows 7 and hope for the best. Needless to say we now have Avast on our other laptops.
     
  10. cgwahl

    cgwahl
    Expand Collapse
    Sheriffs a near

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    6,283
    12
    Location:
    CA

    Avast is good, is what I use and put on others machines. Never been all that thrilled with AVG for various reasons, even though I've heard it's gotten better (until now obviously).

    Never used MSE, but I like Avast because it can do boot time scans and you can actually use it in safe mode, unlike a lot of other anti-viruses.

    Boss seems to like clamwin. Is also free.
     
  11. dglockster

    dglockster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2001
    1,421
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks for the information.

    If both AVAST and Microsoft Security Essentials are installed and operational will that cause problems or is it best to have one or the other?

    (When it comes to the computer, I am like the owner of a vehicle who can drive but regarding maintenance can do little more than change flats, oil, and spark plugs - and maybe not even spark plugs on newer models.)

    The help that is available in the GlockTalk forums is why I have such an appreciation for the site.
     
    #11 dglockster, Dec 4, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2010
  12. TBO

    TBO
    Expand Collapse
    Why so serious?
    CLM
    1. The Outpost Lounge

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    42,014
    9,707
    Location:
    3500 Cedar Ave S. Minneapolis, MN 55407
    Have one, or the other, NOT both.

    Only one anti-virus program on a machine.
     
  13. Pierre!

    Pierre!
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    3,924
    110
    Location:
    Lovin Sparks Nv!
    Hello DGlockster

    It is one, or the other.

    Two AV programs running at the same time is a Very Bad Thing. They will think each other is a Virus (due to the type of activity) and potentially start 'quarantining' files - some of which will be operating system files. And that's just the start.

    More often, nothing happens except a massive slowdown in operation. The AV systems take alot of overhead, so 2 running at the same time can really make a system Very Very sluggish.

    Come to think of it, this may be a fun test when I have some time - Set up 2 AV apps and document it. Now all I need is some time, and a virtual machine!

    For now, just keep it one at a time.

    I also recommend Malwarebytes for those monthly checks. Never hurts. I let MS Security Essentials run day to day, and once a month (sometimes more) I boot into SAFE MODE and scan with Malwarebytes.

    Hope that helps you out! And I am glad you asked before you tried two AV systems at once!
     
  14. 4TS&W

    4TS&W
    Expand Collapse
    2A RKBA 4EVER

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    3,581
    0
    Location:
    here and there...
    Still using McAfee security center because it's free with my isp..
     
  15. dglockster

    dglockster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2001
    1,421
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Your replies are appreciated.

    From reading the prior posts, there does not seem to be any advantage to using AVAST over Microsoft Security Essentials so I guess I'll use the Microsoft program.

    I'll also Google "Safe Mode" and learn how to get there.
     
  16. jollygreen

    jollygreen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    921
    0
    However, this guy says the problem has been remedied.

     
  17. Pierre!

    Pierre!
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    3,924
    110
    Location:
    Lovin Sparks Nv!
    Here is how you get SAFE MODE - Restart your system, and after the BIOS screen, start pressing the < F8 > key about every 1/2 second... If you go to a page with all white text on a black background you did it right! If you go to the full Windows system start up, you need to reboot and try again until you get the white on black text.

    You will see SAFE MODE, SAFE MODE w/ NETWORKING, and some other options.

    If you have already update your AV/Malware product signature files, just use SAFE MODE. If you *think* you need to update your signature files, I choose SAFE MODE w/ NETWORKING.

    This prevents the virus(es) from loading into ram and hiding themselves from the Anti Virus Anti Malware scanners.

    You should do this periodically... just to be on the safe side.

    Hope that helps you out...
     
  18. Pierre!

    Pierre!
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    3,924
    110
    Location:
    Lovin Sparks Nv!
    HaH! Just took my own advice...

    and nailed a copy of Trojan.Zlob on my system while in SAFE MODE scanning. It removed easily, and the system is clean now!

    Lots of systems now scanning in Pierre!'s house... (LOL)

    See! It Works When You Work It!

    L8ter...
     
  19. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    Pierre! just a heads up ... newer systems have a GUI BIOS with mouse support and come in a variety of colors.


    .
     
  20. KY23

    KY23
    Expand Collapse
    GSSF IDPA

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2001
    222
    0
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    As much as I don't like Microsoft products Microsoft Security Essentials is a good product. Probably the best AV for Windows.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
AVG problem Tech Talk Dec 17, 2008
Avg ? Tech Talk Nov 26, 2006
AVG !!!!!!! Tech Talk Aug 8, 2006
Avg Tech Talk Oct 31, 2004
Beer Drinkers -- Be Warned!!! The Lighter Side Mar 11, 2003